We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good Chinese”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tsing Tao Mandarin Chinese
Ranked #17 of 80 Restaurants in Wilmette
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Our favorite Chinese restaurant, good food, good service, rarely a wait to get seated. (Busiest night is Friday).
Some dishes are more spicy, but you can get them hotter or more mild to suit your taste.
Note: bathroom is down stairs, not for people with mobility issues.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank WeloveB-Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Family own restaurant for over two generations with special Chinese food that invented here from their own favorite menu in the family.It is Tsing Tao Chicken one of the food that you must try.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Beefeater2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This is one of the ubiquitous Cantonese Chinese restaurants in America. White table cloths, tables and booths. You will not find gourmet cooking, but comfort tasty Chinese food for your American palate.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Wanderlustrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

There's been a Chinese restaurant in this space for ages, and since moving back to the area, my wife and I have wanted to re-acquaint ourselves with the food scene, we thought that we'd revisit a place that we remembered from our childhoods in the area. We had an appointment in downtown Wilmette and so, craving a good basic Chinese meal nearby, we thought we'd visit Tsing Tao.
First, let me say that the service was quite good, friendly and attentive, and we'd ordered a meal consisting of "the basics" - egg roll, hot sour soup and a couple of entrees (veggie egg foo yung and cashew shrimp) along with a szechuan green bean plate, so our expectations were not that high (i.e., we didn't order anything super-authentic, except for perhaps the green beans).
The egg rolls were a little better-than-average, the hot sour soup was good (with the heat more from pepper than from vinegar) but, after those items, the rest were just OK. The cashew shrimp were in a rather sweet plum sauce, the egg foo was rather meager and a little tough and the green beans, which are supposed to pack a little punch, were rather limp and watery, without much (if any) heat.
So, we weren't impressed, but then I went to visit their rest rooms and, quite frankly, I was appalled. The room was very damp, with traces of rust on just about everything from the floor tile (which was rotting away in the corners). The vent fan cover was caked in dust, and you heard a rather steady dripping noise coming from somewhere nearby. All I can say is that, for a restaurant in a nice neighborhood and a pretty regular clientele, they have really dropped the ball with regards to cleanliness in the one area that should be the cleanest, which then made me wonder about the rest of the place...
I don't think that we'll be back unless we want take-out.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank MikeGPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Definitely a neighborhood Chinese restaurant with the typical fare. Parking is not abundant. The dishes are the popular dishes but the food is good.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Farenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tsing Tao Mandarin Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing