We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Walker Bros.”

Walker Bros Original Pancake House
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Wilmette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Great old time favorite, famous for its apple pancake. Everything about Walker Brothers is true great food of the best ingredients. We love to pick up the apple pancake and bring it home and have it for a dessert with ice on top, wow totally AWESOME. Worth the visit you are sure to find something that you will surely enjoy!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trinityexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

If you are going to drive more than 300 miles to go to a Northwestern football game, then you should go to breakfast here first. There is a wait to get in and as long as it's not out the door, it's worth it.
Eggs are very good no matter what style you order them. There are many good pancake choices, I enjoyed the banana pancakes. They serve very good coffee with frequent refills.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank joe-chicago-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Before having breakfast here last Sunday morning, I hadn't been here for years. Back then, I lived in Evanston, only a couple miles away. So, a short trip to close-by Walker Bros. was no big deal. But even then, I only had a couple meals here. Why? Simple. I'm not much of a pancake-kind-of-guy.

Well, we're only a 20-minute drive away now, and my wife had never been here before. So, it was off to Sunday breakfast at "the original" Walker Bros. Original Pancake House. And why not? The place is a North Shore institution. Even if it's not - nor will ever be - a favorite place for us.

Everything you read here on TripAdvisor about this place is right on the mark: warm, welcoming old-world decor; fresh food; fantastic service; one-of-a-kind unique pancakes, waffles, etc.; no reservations, long lines - blah, blah, blah. So, I'm not going to repeat all that.

Our Breakfast:

I had a couple Basted Eggs with Crispy Bacon and 3 Pancakes: All good. The bacon was eggspecially good.

My wife had the Sante Fe Omelette: Spicy & zesty Southwestern omelette with a medley of fresh onions, cilantro, tomatoes and jalapeno peppers. Filled with spicy Habanero cheese and served with homemade salsa on the side. All this also comes with three buttermilk pancakes, whipped butter and syrup. Needless to say, this is a whole lot of food, so Amy had a plan: enough left over to take to work on Monday for another breakfast. Good plan. (Didn't want to give you the idea that she is an "Oinker." Besides, that would NOT be politically correct, would it? Even if it were a joke? NO! Not these days. Oink. Oink.) Her opinion: fresh, well-prepared, etc. BUT not close to as good as our favorite breakfast place. Here's the deal:

Walker Bros. Original Pancake House is everything that it's advertised to be: the North Shore's favorite place for "this and that." Likely to be jammed-packed for breakfast. An incredible success story. A true accomplishment: from this restaurant, which opened back in 1960 to 7 area locations today. No doubt: it is a GREAT family business. (Yes, people . . . they DID build it!) Congrats to everyone involved, including their long-time, loyal and outstanding employees - they couldn't have done it without them. All that said:

If your favorite breakfast is one with a lot of calories and a whole lot of carbs, you're going to LOVE this place. Even if this is not your thing, it's well-worth a visit for the experience. Note: there are many options on the menu. But Walker Bros. is really known for its being "The Original Pancake House." And it is around here: a really special place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vacation810441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

My family has been going to Walker Bros. for over 20 years. They have always been excellent. The quality of their ingredients is remarkable. The service prompt and professional. Everything on the menu is tasty. I highly recommend the Swedish pancakes (the best of the best). Coffee is bold and flavorful. Not cheap but fairly priced for the quality you receive.

In other words: Pretty dang near perfect.

Try going in the evening. Not nearly as crowed. And, a nice change of fare.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Svensota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived early for the Northwestern Wildcats game in search for a place for breakfast. We found Walker Bros Original Pancake House and glad we did. The portions are large and the flavours are amazing.
The restaurant was packed so we had to wait a bit, but it was well worth it.
I recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank samimanitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walker Bros Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Walker Bros Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing