We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs”
Review of Bub City

Bub City
Reserve with OpenTable
Bub City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Rosemont
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Description: Bub City is Rosemont's destination for barbecue, whiskey and live country music and is open for lunch, dinner, weekend brunch and late night dining. The Southern spot offers more than 125 different whiskeys from well-known and independent distilleries throughout the country, a build-your-own Bloody Mary bar on the weekends and live country music every day of the week.
Restaurant details
Description: Bub City is Rosemont's destination for barbecue, whiskey and live country music and is open for lunch, dinner, weekend brunch and late night dining. The Southern spot offers more than 125 different whiskeys from well-known and independent distilleries throughout the country, a build-your-own Bloody Mary bar on the weekends and live country music every day of the week.
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We ate here about 5 times while we were staying at the Hyatt O'Hare. We always had great ribs and slaw with a side of roasted Brussel Sprouts. YUMM Several times there was free music, which made the time extra special!

Thank bontof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you so much for joining us during your trip to Chicago! We are so happy you enjoyed everything and had a great time. We hope to see you back on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Came here on a Friday night at 7:30 for dinner with friends. No appetizers were ordered - went straight in for the main course. Had the 3 meat sampler plate with the lean brisket and Chicago Style ribs, side of beans and sweet tater fluff. Also ordered the Baby Back Mac . Friends ordered the pull pork sandwich and the Chicago Ribs as well.
So, first off, brisket is my holy grail of how I judge a good bbq joint. You have a choice of lean or fatty, so it's my fault maybe? but the lean was sadly....dry. The Chicago "fall off the bone" ribs were good, but not to die for. Also, both meats were lukewarm. The beans were solid as was the "fluff" - reminiscent of your Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole with marshmallow. The Mac was SO GOOD... $12.95 good? Maybe if there wasn't just a sprinkle of Baby Back meat garnish style. Our friends seemed to enjoy their food but didn't rave.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Excellent food! We found this location while looking to shop. The menu was incredible, and our entire family loved the food including the child who tries anything, the child who says "hold the sauce and the flavor" and the parents who are looking to experience new food. Great spot. Friendly staff, and live music.

Thank GloriaSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Been on a BBQ kick lately (TX, NC, MD) - why not add IL to the list.

Probably could have missed this one.

Going for the whole roadhouse/honky tonk look. I guess if you are not across the highway from O'Hare surrounded by shopping, hotels and convention center, it will work. Loud, bright, just too over the top.

But hey - what you expect for good BBQ. Which was missing here - just really average. Two of us, both ordering the brisket platters, side of Mac & Cheese and waffle fries. Meat was lean but dry, Mac & Cheese a bit overcooked and think I will stick with Chiok-Fil-A for my waffle fries.

Overpriced for both the quality and quantity. Friendly staff, good service. Just average

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mastiffdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is open and honest feedback like this that allows us to continue to fine tune our restaurant and grow over time. I will make sure the food issues are addressed with the kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Was going to a concert down the street so we decided to stop into this complex to have some dinner drinks and we chose bub city! It was my first time there and I really enjoyed it! It's a very cool atmosphere! The staff was really good too. They were all very friendly. We also enjoyed the food. The waffle fries were fantastic! I will definitely be back!!!

Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

So happy to hear about your recent visit to Bub City. Hope to see you back in the restaurant soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bub City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing