We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing cottage and family friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
Butterlaw Cottage from the upper lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterlaw Cottage from the upper lawn
A misty autumn morning at Butterlaw Summer views across the valley.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Butterlaw Cottage from the upper lawn
A misty autumn morning at Butterlaw
Summer views across the valley.
Large dining/sitting area. Wood-burner. Oak table for 8. Free view. DVD and Bluetooth sound system
French doors leading onto the garden
Bedroom 1. Superking bed
Bedroom 1 with view from bed
Upstairs walk-in shower room
Bedroom 4. Single or can be set up with cot instead (provided)
Downstairs kingsize bedroom with bath en-suite
Landing (stair gates available if required)
Cloakroom leading to utility room
Private drive and ample parking
Upper and lower private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Buckland St Mary, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carla C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing cottage and family friendly”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have spent a truly fantastic couple of days staying at Butterlaw Cottage and are already trying to work out when we can return.

Butterlaw is 5*. Sophie and Andrew have decorated the cottage beautifully to a high standard whilst maintaining a family friendly environment. We were so impressed with their level of detail, especially the extra touches with the stair gates, high chair and toys which was perfect to keep my one year old nephew safe and entertained.

We all enjoyed meeting the animals who were all incredibly friendly. The table tennis kept the menfolk entertained and the views from the cottage were beautiful.

The pictures and description of Butterlaw don't do justice to the warm, inviting and amazing experience that you'll have staying there.

Sophie and Andrew were the perfect hosts; friendly and available to talk with whilst letting us enjoy our privacy.

We would give a 10* rating if we could and highly recommend staying at Butterlaw.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlotte...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had the most amazing country experience!”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was the first time I had booked a holiday home online and from the minute I contacted Sophie and Andrew I was so pleased I had. If I could give more than 5* I definitely would! Originally I had to change my booking due to family reasons and Sophie was so chilled and easy going about it and didn't charge us any extra.
We were greeted so warmly and told everything we needed to know about the local area, such as local shops, walks etc. The next day Sophie came over with freshly baked (still warm) scones which was such a treat.
We took our dog who played very well with their dogs and they also provide the biggest dog bed which even that is extremely comfortable.
We loved the whole house, the eye for detail was immaculate and the photo's don't give it much justice. The beds were so comfy it was as though you were sinking inside and it was giving you a cuddle.
We came down from London and it was exactly what we needed to get out of the City, but my grandmother also came from Cornwall and was so impressed by the surroundings.
I do not have a bad word to say and I will recommend it to all my family and friends and will definitely be returning if they will have us back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were so comfortable, and everything was immaculate
Liked least: I couldn't fault it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pee381
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location for a relaxing retreat with warm hospitality and amazing views!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Butterlaw Cottage, the cottage itself was beautiful and very tastefully decorated - the photos don't don't do it justice, it was luxurious and homely . The cottage catered to all members of the family with a wide selection of books for the young and 'old-er' . An abundance of games and a fantastic selection of DVD's for a cosy evening. It wasn't quite cold enough to light the log burner but look forward to using that when we return! Sophie and Andrew were fantastic and it was lovely getting to know all the animals! We were spoilt with the most amazing views! The trampoline and table tennis table proved to be a hit with the kids! We all loved it so much we are already making plans to return! I'm suffering from Butterlaw withdraw symptoms! Thank you Sophie, Andrew, kids and animals for a fantastic Easter break - we have created many a fond memories!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara B
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, 5 star and more !”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Butterlaw between Christmas and New Year with our children (aged 9-11), friends and two dogs. We had a fabulous stay and Sophie & Andrew could not be any more accommodating. We were greeted with a lovely welcome hamper and a 10 foot christmas tree ! The cottage is fabulous, high spec, very well equipped with great attention to detail. We all loved the farm and the children helped out with the animals. The cottage is in a beautiful rural location with stunning views and great countryside walks. We would highly recommend Butterlaw, we have booked to go back, it is a hidden treasure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$240
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing