We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Curries”
Review of India Restaurant

India Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Tuakau
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

We visited India restaurant as part of group celebrating an important birthday. The staff were friendly and welcoming and all the curries that we tried were delicious. This is a great little restaurant and well worth the drive through the beautiful Tuakau countryside.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank SchalkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2019

We have heard great things about The India Restaurant and finally made the trip in from Pukekohe/Drury. The restaurant was fully booked on our Saturday night and apparently on the Sunday night as well - quite the hot spot with locals! Some of our family friends love it so much, they go each week! Apparently there are midweek dine in specials. We also tried cauliflower rice and coconut rice - fun to try something different. We also noted they cater to gluten free dietaries as well. Service was great. Food was great. Friendly and attentive staff. Will be back again.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank canadiankye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2019

A pleasant Indian restaurant located on Tuakau's main street.
Pleasant, friendly staff., Large selection of Indian food, with reasonable prices.
The kiwi spice is hot! Beware of the Indian spice, which is hotter!
Good Indian food.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdarcyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2019 via mobile

This is our regular and we love it. For the 1st time ever we had the Indian Banquet - WOW!!! Just delicious!!! For $30.00 per person it WAS excellent value and we would certainly order it again. Wonderful customer service A+++

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank LilyMc6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

I discovered the India restaurant a few years ago and it’s my only go-to for indian now. The staff are so lovely and welcoming, and very helpful in recommending dishes for people who aren’t familiar with Indian food. I have never had a bad meal here, and now I can’t go past their palak paneer- the waitress even knows my order! It’s always great to share one of their yummy mixed platters to start (they’ve got three platters to choose from and all our delicious) and if you’ve got a big group, the mixed bread basket is great because you can try a few different naans and roti. Anything you try here will be amazing and you won’t be disappointed! Just don’t go in expecting a fancy restaurant- it definitely doesn’t have the best decor, but it totally makes up for it with the food and service!

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Danielle1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed India Restaurant also viewed

Tuakau, Waikato Region
Pukekohe, Auckland
 
Tuakau, Waikato Region
Tuakau, Waikato Region
 

Been to India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.