We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Collier House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Collier House
Main Bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Collier House
Main Bedroom
Kitchen
The Roman Baths
Court Yard Garden
Sitting Room
Top floor double overlooking our lambs and the country side around
Dinning
Tea & Cake
Sunny patio with seating and a Barbecue.
Baby boy born Thursday 21st April 16 please come and meet him :)
Double Bedroom. Comfortable sunny room with great views over the surrounding countryside
View from the single bedroom where you again overlook the beautiful country side
View from the top over looking the mendip hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
High Littleton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ganeshram...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found Meryl very friendly and indeed made us a cake on arrival. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well-maintained. The surrounding countryside provided scope for walks. The children enjoyed the views from the attic, lambs in the nearby field and overall it was a relaxing short break for us visiting longleat safari park, Roman bath and Stonehenge. I will certainly recommend it.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your great review and very happy that you enjoyed your time here. The weather was fantastic for you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missjfrom...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little place :-)”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Th Jolly Collier is a beautiful house, with everything you would need and done to a nice specification. Lovely little touches everywhere, great views and a lovely cosy feel. Meryl is a great host and we had a relaxing stay. You do need a car as the cottage isn't really within walking distance of much. The landlord of the pub down the road was so friendly when we rang for him to recommend a taxi firm he came and picked us up and dropped us home! Great location so we visited Bath, Wells and Glastonbury to name but a few. Would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style / feel / ambience
Liked least: It was very dark at night so needed a car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you so much for your great review. Paul at The Hunters Rest is a star. Great pub and staff and perfect for our guests who want food and a beer. We have meet some amazing people over the last year and enjoy making you all feel welcome. We love living in this great stop and being able to share it was visitors. Meryl :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T
1 review
“Great location, well furnished and appointed cottage, warm welcome”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a lovely mini break between Christmas and New Year. Meryl was extremely accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was beautifully appointed and in a great location, close to Bath, Bristol and Wells. Would definitely go back if we are in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks Karen for your kind words. See you again one day as this area is full of great sights sounds and places to visits
Meryl :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB1
Herts, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed for two nights with husband & brother and sister in law. Wanted to visit Bath Christmas market and had had a B&B booked for some months but was let down just a couple of weeks before, so found COLLIER HOUSE on the owners direct web site.
What a find! Really lovely little place and very reasonably priced. Very well finished and has everything you need. Owners are friendly and helpful and Meryl even baked us a cake, what a lovely thought.
Would recommend to any one and would not hesitate to stay again .
The Hunters Rest pub/restaurant was very good had a good meal at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bed rooms
Liked least: For us separate toilet and bathroom would have been better as we were 2 couples staying together
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Many thanks for great review and hope to see you all again Meryl & Martyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alski1928
london
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for 3 nights with our twin boys (age 11). Lovely cottage which is in fact a self contained annexe to the owners property. Greeted by the owner Meryl on arrival with freshly made Chocolate Brownies - lasted all of a few seconds with the boys !

The cottage is very well presented, and being a recent conversion it has been finished to an extremely high standard by the owner who we understand are in the building trade. A refreshing change from so many short term rentals where everything is a bit tired and pennies have been pinched. Collier House is a very modern renovation of an old cottage and very clean. All equipment provided, coffee machines, modern oven and microwave, washing machine, Sony flatcreen TV, free WIFI etc.. Also refreshing to have all the basics provided such as tea, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid, tea towels, etc.. so as Meryl said in her email to us all we needed to bring was the gin. tonic and a bottle of wine !

Three very well proportioned bedrooms (1 King, 1 Double, 1 Single) with VERY comfy matresses. Just one bathroom with loo and great high pressure shower.

We visited Longleat (40 mins) and Cheddar (30 mins) and can highly recommend both, although we were out of season so can't comment on what they would be like peak times.

As we ate out for lunch every day we didn't try the local pub, however Meryl had left a copy of their menu and I'm sure it would be great

I think this would be a great rental for couples, friends and families so long as the bedroom arrangements work for you. Highly recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. The cottage has gone from strength to strength due to lovely guest like you all.
Hope to see you all again one day
Meryl & Martyn :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing