We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good spot to visit

This zoo is not a zoo but a shelter for animals. However they present as if they are a zoo. So the... read more

Reviewed 13 February 2018
Maarten B
,
Den Helder, The Netherlands
via mobile
Autumn Walk

We had a lovely walk through the Zoo, price is okay for the amount of animals! We stayed 2h we... read more

Reviewed 20 October 2017
nathaliesP7095XI
,
Duisburg, Germany
via mobile
Read all 240 reviews
  
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
160
71
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
71
4
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

I was here with my friend and her little one (1 year old) It is meaby not the biggest zoo that you have ever seen but there is enough to see. I love love love that they have kangeroos. The park is clean, the crew is nice and there is in and outside a place to eat and drink. I would go here with children between 1,5 and 7 meaby 8 years old. The price to get in for children of the age till 4 for free. Are you above 4 years old it cost 10 euro per person.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank VeniVidiAmavi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

My husband and I decided we needed to have a day out, he had been to this park for work a couple years ago, he thought I would enjoy it, oh yes, I sure did.
We were met by a few roosters and chickens, and bunny rabbits on the path, and all sorts of other animals, pygmy goats ,llamas ,turkeys etc..once out of the small animal enclosure, we saw such a beautifully appointed animal park, we saw a bear, beautiful wolves, emus, maras, all sorts of water fowl, the animals were in such healthy condition.
We spent most of our time in the Big Cat rescue center, where they try to modify certain behaviors of big cats who had spent so many years in circuses or abused..they have this wonderful coffee shop over looking a big arena where a couple of cats are released to "play" and interact.
We both highly recommend this place to any one of all ages.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

In the far north corner of the Netherlands lies Landgoed Hoenderdael. It's more of a small forest park with a kids zoo at the beginning. Lots of chickens, turkeys, deer and rabbits here.

As you walk on the path, you find enclosures with various different animals, small to large. All the anmials have enough space and look very healthy. It's a wonderful walk as you can see a lot of different birds, wolves, raccoons and even brown bears. Also there's a monkey-enclosure where you can help feed ring-tailed lemurs ('King Julian'-monkeys from the Madagascar-movie)

When you reach the end of the path, you'll find that there are a lot of lions and tigers there, this is 'Stichting Leeuw' (Lion Foundation). They provide shelter for big cats that have been in captivity, in cirusses or otherwise haven't lived in the wild. Where possible the animals are prepared to be set free again in the future.

If you visit in the right time of the year, there also is a bird-show that's held twice a day here. Within the building of Stichting Leeuw, you can get some snacks and coffee/tea/lemonade.
All in all it's a great place to spend a nice day for only €10,- per person.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank Tijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

I visited this zoo with my son. We had a great time walking around, and experiencing all the animals. There was plenty of parking, and there are a lot of exhibits where you are able to interact with some of the animals.

Lots of animals and they are very well taken care of.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank DutchGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely park with a lot of animals. This 'zoo' takes care of retired circus animals and animals who were saved from abuse. The enclosures look very natural and they're all very large. All the animals look like they're very healthy and happy!

The animals are active and fun to watch. The wolves were curious and came up very close and we watched capybaras being fed. They also have a lot of birds, cranebirds, monkeys and other animals. You can get really close to the ringtail monkeys. There's also a 'tropical' building with crocodiles and meerkats.

When you exit the park, you walk along a long, straight road with three large, pretty estates. There are a few enclosures for animals here as well.

Much better than many other zoos in the Netherlands and at a much lower price (10 euros). The only issue is reaching it. If you come with public transport, you have to walk quite a bit before you reach the park entrance (about 1,5 km). Keep that in mind before you visit =)

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Maxicosi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews