We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, Food, Service...all wonderful”
Review of Goldmoor Dining

Goldmoor Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Goldmoor Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Black Jack Road
Description: Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths or elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River.
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Often times you forget to frequent restaurants in your own backyard. Goldmoor is a wonderful restaurant with outstanding food, views and service. We were lucky enough to meet the Chef, Josh and to taste his wonderful offerings. Our wait staff was attentive but not overbearing (perfect). Would suggest visiting Goldmoor...especially right around sunset when you can look out over the Mississippi. Went with friends and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HawkValleyInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Hawk Valley Innkeeper, thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent dining experience at the Goldmoor. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed the evening. Please come visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018

This restaurant is a must if you want the best food. Exec. Chef Joshua Roberts is a culinary master.

Thank nukebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Nukebear, thank you for your great comment and accelades for Chef Josh. We enjoyed having you dine in the kitchen and sharing.
Please come visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Thank you Trip Advisor to help us find this gem. The food was excellent. The service staff was helpful choosing our entrees. The views facing the Mississippi River bottom were picturesque. The place and service had a European feel. They let you take your time to soak in the dining experience. They were tough to get into so reserve as soon as you arrive in Galena. Reservations were full on line so we called and got in. Thank you for that. You will need GPS as it is in the countryside,7 miles out of Galena.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Jim, thank you for sharing your dining experience. We appreciate your feed back and are glad that we could accommodate you. We hope you will visit again for another great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The Goldmoor dining experience started off leaving me with a bad taste in my mouth. However, the food was so incredible and the service that we received from the wait staff was wonderful.

When we arrived at the Goldmoor we were greeted by an incredibly nice woman that worked as a groundskeeper at the inn and sometimes washed the dishes. She was incredibly nice and funny and kept us occupied until the hostess showed up.

This is where we had an unpleasant time. I have never been looked down upon by someone at a restaurant but this lady was so rude and condescending that me and my finace almost left. However, we decided to stay in part because my better half is more level headed than I am even though she was more upset about the tone the hostess took with us.

And thank goodness we did stay. The food and waitress were both incredible and we had a great meal.

When we left however there were three people standing at the exit and none of them wished us a good night. So much for class.

On a side note, the grounds and inn were gorgeous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nwag1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

An amazing dinner at Goldmoor including the owners, bird feeder entertainment, hostess, wait staff, choice of music and overall atmosphere. And then there was the food which was over the top excellent. A must visit for a meal and I believe overnight.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julielr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit R, Owner at Goldmoor Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear julielr77, thank you for your complimentary words about your Goldmoor experience.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Goldmoor Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing