We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$388
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$737
US$592
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$650
US$622
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$773
US$691
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$810
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$558
US$503
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$633
virginhotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$650
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$858
US$703
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$711
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,559)
Filter reviews
3,559 results
Traveller rating
2,204
950
249
99
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,204
950
249
99
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrader joe's across the streetmedia roomloft suitegreat locationfiltered waterboutique hotelturn down servicebath productswet barmini barmichigan avenuestreet noisemagnificent milebed was very comfortableriver norththe windy citymag mile
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,559 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at The James with a friend for a long weekend getaway. The place is an easy walk or short Uber from most everything we wanted to see in Chicago, including the Magnificent Mile, the museums and even a show at Second City. We found the staff pleasant and our room well appointed. The place has lots of special touches, from free filtered water in a bottle on the nightstand to complimentary wine in the evening and coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rachel C

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities that we have to offer! Our central location does provide easy access to most things around the city, and it sounds like you had a fun trip to Chicago due to this! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled to Chicago for a weekend business trip and stayed at The James. Staff and service were polite and very helpful. Located on the Magnificent Mile, it was covenient to shopping and restaurants. I enjoyed staying here and will return.

Room Tip: The only caution is be aware of room temperature. We realized quickly that the air conditioner needed to be set lower than usual due to it's location in the room, but that was easily handled.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rose D,

Thank you for staying with us at The James Chicago! I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience while staying here. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great eco-friendly amenities in the room; great location, staff, lobby, super comfy bed ... highly recommend this hotel when in Chicago! The doorman was always helpful in connecting with transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Diane B,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer, and appreciate your recommendations of our hotel! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great spot minutes from the Magnificent Mile. Super friendly staff too.

Really large room with good size bed and filtered water in the room too.

Free tea and coffee in foyer and muffins/cookies in the afternoon

Lots of nice little touches

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Charlotte H,

I am pleased to hear that our staff, and amenities made your trip to Chicago an enjoyable one. We hope to have you stay with us at The James Chicago again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel based on it's price and location within the city. Pros: large rooms, nice pillows, free wine hour from 5-6pm Cons: no pool, extremely expensive breakfast ($16 for 2 bagels!) and the windows didn't hold out any of the street noise even from a higher up location.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, be sure to warn them not to eat the mini bar snacks ;) $$$$$
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolekB2265SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear nicolekB2265SY,

Thank you for staying with us at The James Chicago! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the size of our rooms, as well as several of the amenities that we have to offer. I do want to mention that although our hotel does not have a pool our guests are allowed to use the pool at the AC Marriott across the street. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews