We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,716)
Filter reviews
3,716 results
Traveller rating
2,280
996
267
110
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,280
996
267
110
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trader joe's across the street loft suite media room great location filtered water boutique hotel turn down service bath products mini bar wet bar michigan avenue street noise magnificent mile bed was very comfortable mag mile river north the windy city
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 3,716 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I stayed at The James with a friend for a long weekend getaway. The place is an easy walk or short Uber from most everything we wanted to see in Chicago, including the Magnificent Mile, the museums and even a show at Second City. We found the staff pleasant and our room well appointed. The place has lots of special touches, from free filtered water in a bottle on the nightstand to complimentary wine in the evening and coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Rachel C

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities that we have to offer! Our central location does provide easy access to most things around the city, and it sounds like you had a fun trip to Chicago due to this! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I traveled to Chicago for a weekend business trip and stayed at The James. Staff and service were polite and very helpful. Located on the Magnificent Mile, it was covenient to shopping and restaurants. I enjoyed staying here and will return.

Room Tip: The only caution is be aware of room temperature. We realized quickly that the air conditioner needed to be set lower than usual due to it's location in the room, but that was easily handled.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Rose D,

Thank you for staying with us at The James Chicago! I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience while staying here. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Great eco-friendly amenities in the room; great location, staff, lobby, super comfy bed ... highly recommend this hotel when in Chicago! The doorman was always helpful in connecting with transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Diane B,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer, and appreciate your recommendations of our hotel! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Great spot minutes from the Magnificent Mile. Super friendly staff too.

Really large room with good size bed and filtered water in the room too.

Free tea and coffee in foyer and muffins/cookies in the afternoon

Lots of nice little touches

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Charlotte H,

I am pleased to hear that our staff, and amenities made your trip to Chicago an enjoyable one. We hope to have you stay with us at The James Chicago again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We chose this hotel based on it's price and location within the city. Pros: large rooms, nice pillows, free wine hour from 5-6pm Cons: no pool, extremely expensive breakfast ($16 for 2 bagels!) and the windows didn't hold out any of the street noise even from a higher up location.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, be sure to warn them not to eat the mini bar snacks ;) $$$$$
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolekB2265SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesDOF, Front Office Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear nicolekB2265SY,

Thank you for staying with us at The James Chicago! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the size of our rooms, as well as several of the amenities that we have to offer. I do want to mention that although our hotel does not have a pool our guests are allowed to use the pool at the AC Marriott across the street. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Milos D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews