We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Classic Italian in Chicago’s Theater District”

Italian Village Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #161 of 10,153 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Theater District
Description: Three restaurants in one historic building, the Italian Village Restaurants is home to The Village, La Cantina Chophouse and Vivere. All three have their own chef and make their own way, each catering to a different restaurant experience. Whichever experience you choose, you can't go wrong. Our 35,000-bottle wine collection fills hearts with joy and our waitstaff, many of them with us for decades, ensure your dining experience here at the Italian Village is memorable. We treat you like family!
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Very nice Italian Dinner in Chicago’s Loop near the Theatre District.

This place is classic. As I walked in, I felt like I was in Italy. The Frank Sinatra music made me realize, I was in America but the owners must be real Italian.

I ordered a small mixed green salad and spaghetti with two meat balls with glass of Chianti. It was simple and GREAT.

While I dined alone, a table of 40+ nearby were having a great time.

When I am in Chicago again, I will return!

Thanks for a very nice dinner.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank AUNZTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2022 via mobile

When you walk up the steps and into the restaurant you are walking into a village in Italy. The sky looks real the walls look like the village and the experience and atmosphere it’s a surreal. There are coves and rooms made up to look like homes. Even an Al Capone room where he actually had a meal.

The food is delicious and the servers attentive.

Homemade sausage sandwich was wonderful. Minestrone soup authentic. Calamari was great.

Can’t beat this true Italian atmosphere..

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank tkasper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

An iconic Chicago restaurant has been serving customers since 1927. Great entrees, wonderful desserts, and doting service. Seafood ravioli and veal marsala were both excellent.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank CarlS292
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 May 2022

We were in town on Mother's Day and went to the Village for dinner that night. It is a place you should make sure to try. Being the busiest restaurant day of the year, it was packed like you'll seldom see. People without reservations were being told of multi-hour waits. Every seat at the bar taken and people standing behind them. And through all that, the staff was everywhere all at once. It was amazing to watch. The hosts/managers were true pros, warm and welcoming to customers and keeping the machine-like efficiency of the rest of staff moving perfectly.

Then there was Johan. Our waiter. If you go, you have to ask for this guy. Of course, every table was full. On top of that, we kept making specials requests of him almost every time we saw him. And he was brilliant. I challenge you to find a better waitperson. He's like a whirling dervish. In constant motion. Unless you needed him. Then it was whatever you wanted right that very second with a smile and wit to go along with it. There are no words of high enough praise.

The food was outstanding. Gnocchi for Debbie and a pizza for me. We'd order both again and the gnocchi over and over.

The atmosphere is fun. Lights and murals and a solid attempt at making you feel at home in Italy. The only issue the restaurant has is one they can't do anything about. The shotgun-style layout forces them to have one walkway through the place. And so that walkway is crowded with both patrons and staff at all times. If your table borders it, you will not be able to get much intimacy. That said, off the main walkway they have created a number of very private snugs. Ask for one of those tables when you make your reservation if it will make it a better experience for you.

The bottom line: You'll be very happy you went here.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraigandDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 April 2022

Great atmosphere! The food was pure Italian ! More than enough to eat and then some. Also, the service was superb!

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank 258marshallp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Italian Village Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Italian Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.