We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoughtfully appointed, relaxing get-away”
other traveller has booked this property
Winter Holidays at the Pool House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winter Holidays at the Pool House
Japanese Ofuro Soaking Tub for 2 Finnish Sauna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Winter Holidays at the Pool House
Japanese Ofuro Soaking Tub for 2
Finnish Sauna
The inside of the cedar Finnish Sauna
Bedroom. Walnut paneling from the Brown's farm. Hans Wegner and Ekornes chair.
Living room viewed from the kitchen, with stairs to second half story.
Kitchen viewed from the living area. You can glimpse the bathroom in rear.
The Pool House with flowers on the porch and swimming pool
Niche under stairs with work table.
Bathroom. Washer-dryer and towel warmer are behind door to right.
Upstairs desk. Floor is bamboo.
Mill stones from Union County, just south of Carbondale.
Outdoor dining seats 6 on brick patio by woods garden.
View of the garden in high summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carbondale, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rin1
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thoughtfully appointed, relaxing get-away”
Reviewed 22 August 2020 for a stay in August 2020

We came for the pool, but we loved everything about it. We had free reign of the lovely vegetable and herb gardens while being surrounded by beautiful flowers and the bees and butterflies that made the garden their home. The fire pit, perfect for evening s'mores, was lovely. The pool was amazing and we really enjoyed the provided pool toys. We've stayed at a number of vacation rentals over the years and this might have been the most comfortable bed we've encountered. Little treats and thoughtful surprises throughout the home.

There's lots of great hiking in the area and we took full advantage. The owners were very kind to all of us and really went the extra mile in helping us with our pre-trip research. The extra cleaning measures that they have taken really helped us to feel comfortable. Overall, a wonderful vacation. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
672judyn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Pool was fabulous!”
Reviewed 4 August 2020 for a stay in July 2020

The Pool House is in Carbondale, IL. We basically swam, ate, and slept. We did not do many outings due to Covid-19. Did visit Flamm Orchards & got some great Peach Jam plus other kinds. We ordered delivery on some food.
We loved the pool, got in usually 3 times a day! Relaxing, very! They have a great garden with veggies and beautiful flowers. The tomatoes were very, very good!
The Pool House had a nice king bedroom, nice shower, kitchen had lots of extras, had upstairs with couch bed. I did not see as didn't climb the stairs.
We basically rented for the private pool. That is what we look for every year.
Had a really great time. D and Jane were wonderful, answered questions, brought us fruit, pumpkin bread, jelly.

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mskroger
Dunnville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Vacation ”
Reviewed 30 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020

The Carbondale pool house is awesome. D & Jane are very nice people. Showed us around the grounds. All the flowers are beautiful. They let us use from the garden which was awesome. We had tomatoes every day.The pool is beautiful& we were in it 3 times everyday. Just can't say enough good things! We are planning on going back again!

Date of stay: July 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darbyo202...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem, complete with charming house, great pool and a glorious garden.”
Reviewed 5 July 2020 for a stay in June 2020
1
person found this review helpful

The Carbondale Pool House is a lovely bit of paradise in a historic residential area of Carbondale. The house is comfortable with all the amenities you would need, the outdoor pool is a delight and perfect for this summer with limited public swimming pools and lakes. The large and luscious garden is amazing, and guests have a generous seating area and barbecue. We will be back!

Date of stay: June 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile040...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“We had such a great week at the Pool House. Ideally located, everything was ready to make us feel at home.”
Reviewed 27 May 2020 for a stay in May 2020

Attention to details is what strikes most about the Pool House in Carbondale. Very comfy and close to everything we really enjoyed the flowers and all the birds visiting the garden from time to time. The house is also very well equiped with top internet bandwith and wifi and a great TV set up with numbers of channels and content ready to use. Jane and D. are very special hosts that have lived all accross the US and that love to share what they know about south illinois and the country. We hope to be able to come back.

Date of stay: May 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.