We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,352)
Filter reviews
1,352 results
Traveller rating
1,156
142
45
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,156
142
45
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews special occasion main building food and wine our wedding anniversary coastal walks large bathroom fantastic food preseli hills fine dining a real treat roll top bath three nights taster menu log fire the cottages pembrokeshire coast high standard
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,352 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Just back from the Grove this evening - we'd been there for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary, as a weekend away without the kids. We'd booked a couple of months back and arrived friday, got an upgrade to a Cottage Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The quality of the accommodation is excellent, huge bed, log burner in the lounge, his & hers bathroom setup and the biggest bath I've seen in a while. Full Sky pack and complimentary mini bar which was a surprising bonus. Couldn't have asked for better (and as my wife will tell anyone - I'm fussy about that kind of thing).
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the friday night and the food was fantastic (think quality not quantity...and the drinks are expensive), but the overall experience was fab and just right for our celebration. Breakfast picked up where dinner left off but was
filling and didn't need anything else during the day - which we spent in St Davids, Whitesand's and the coastal path. Saturday we ate at the Coast restaurant near Saundersfoot which is affiliated with the hotel - again, it was top quality food equalling
other high end meals we've had previously.
The staff and service they provided was exemplary throughout and do the owners proud with their attention to detail.
Absolutely recommend this hotel for an adult, quiet and gourmet stay.

Room Tip: Take an upgrade if offered!
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidrK850JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Front Office Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David,

thank you for sharing your experience at the Grove with our future guests. We are glad that you have enjoyed a quiet weekend away with us for your wedding anniversary.

We very much hope that you will return to us again soon.

Kind regards
Karen Weisheit
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved our weekend at the Grove, the detail is first class throughout supported by fabulous staff. The hotel is quirky and comfortable, very relaxing throughout. The highlight is the 8 course taster menu, stunning. Also the sommelier Catriona shares her passion of the wine with each course, it’s a real treat. Special.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your kind words have been passed on to Catriona and the entire team.

At Grove of Narberth we want every detail of your stay to be special and we are pleased to hear that our attention to detail has not gone unnoticed by you.

We very much hope that you will return back to Pembrokeshire in the near future.

Kind regards
Karen Weisheit
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and had a very relaxing time. Lovely staff and 2 excellent restaurants. There are a couple of Nice lounges to sit in too for drinks or even afternoon tea. I do think the bar area could have comfier seating. The chairs are fine but the bench seating is not so good. But that’s a minor quibble. We had a lovely room with an opulent bathroom. There was also a good sitting room area by our room. The gardens are delightful and from their kitchen garden they provide produce for the hotel. We had a very pleasant stay in a beautiful area of pembrokeshire.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank julianpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Julian,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are very grateful to you for your feedback about our bar seating as we are always striving to improve and your comments have been noted and discussed with the senior management team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grove in the near future.

Kind regards
Karen Weisheit
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This was my second visit to The Grove and I loved it last time; I think it's even better now! We stayed in one of the herb cottages at the side of the main building and by the beautiful walled-garden called 'Sorrel'. It simply oozes style but in a very comfortable and homely fashion; the decor is stunning and I literally could have stayed in the cottage for the whole length of my visit to Narbeth. The log-burner is a splendid facility which our dog took great advantage of.

We dined in the Artisan restaurant the first night (more casual than the Fine-Dining restaurant); the menu is simple and a delight and the fishcake starter a fabulous overture to the beef main course; steak and chips - simple and sumptuous. Then I had cheese - beautiful Welsh cheeses!

We took a stroll into Narbeth the next morning and there are a great collection of independent shops and restaurants; my favourite was the Golden Sheaf where we spent a few pounds! Good antique/collectable shops too.

The piece de resistance of the trip was the tasting menu in the fine-dining restaurant on our second night; every morsel, from the innovative canapés to the homemade breads and succulent grouse, was a carefully considered work of art and a technical accomplishment.

The service was faultless and unobtrusive as well as extremely friendly - a tricky combination to perfect but they hit it right on here (especially the lovely Scottish sommelier who added such passion and warmth to the wine selection). I can heartily recommend The Grove for a special get away in a stunning part of Pembrokeshire.

Room Tip: I loved the cottages; so peaceful and plenty of room with French-windows onto the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gracemullaghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Grace,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really were delighted to hear your comments particularly in regard to your dining experience, thank you. Your kind words have been passed on to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Karen Weisheit
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We enjoyed two very relaxing days and nights at Grove, staying in on of their stunning cottage suites (Sorrell) with our little dog Alfie. Beautiful interiors, furnishings and a fabulous layout with glamorous bathroom, cosy bedroom and lovely little lounge with a woodburner. Having French doors onto our little garden was a bonus which Alfie found very useful. The beautiful new interiors in the main house are equally comfortable, welcoming and very stylish - think Welsh country house with more funk thank chintz. On the first night we had some great cocktails in the bar, and then a delicious meal in the informal Artisan rooms with friends, great local produce with top class cooking and presentation. Beautiful breakfast both mornings, and then a stunning tasting menu in the Fernery fine dining restaurant on the second night. Amazing menu and dishes expertly prepared and accompanied with some beautiful wines. All the staff were great, friendly and attentive without being pompous - standout (sorry didn't get names) Scottish lady sommelier who explained the wines with such passion and made listening so engaging; and also the lovely receptionist who checked us in and out. Came back today very relaxed and will look to return again another time. Highly recommended and a very special place. Thank you everyone at Grove.

Room Tip: Cottage suites are stunning and we liked the privacy and quietness away from the main house - yet only a very short walk.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gavinvharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Gavin,

thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear your comments and that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming Alfie and yourself back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Karen Weisheit
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews