We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I said we'd be back, and we were, and we'll go...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cosy living room
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
some happy visitors
The Village centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rookhope, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inverness...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I said we'd be back, and we were, and we'll go back again!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Honestly, you wouldn't think it could get any better, well it just did! Ok so maybe I was just in need of a good holiday but that aside, once we'd arrived at Terrace Cottage, we both took a breath and knew instantly that we were going to have a fabulous holiday made all the more so by this beautiful, clean and welcoming cottage.

Spotless, comfortable, with WI-FI, a lovely card from the owners welcoming us to their cottage and a couple of complimentary jars of home made Jam got the holiday off to a great start.

The walks and views were all we needed to help us de-stress from our working lives, and at the end of the day, the wine flowed, the log fire burned and I don't think we've ever slept so well as we do at home.

Yes, we'll be back again, no doubt about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, peace and quiet..the bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Always a pleasure to welcome you back Paul. We're glad you liked the jam :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise797
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet village location in Dales, stunning countryside and superbly decorated & equipped can't ottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent booking experience.
Cottage beautifully clean and tastefully decorated with everything you need.
First class bedding/towels and comfortable bed.
A quiet location with beautiful views of the Dales. Walking distance
to good local pub with home cooking.
The best was the high quality of the accommodation.
No negative comments

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of accommodation
Liked least: No negative comments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your comments, we're glad you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oli W
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cozy cottage in friendly village”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We used Terrace Cottage as our base for doing the Coast-to-coast bike ride.

The cottage was great, cozy, and well equipped. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, and the history of Rookhope is very interesting.

The owners of the pub were very friendly and accommodating, as were the local.

I'd thoroughly recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Congratulations on doing the C2C - and its good to hear that Rookhope made a good base for you. thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole d
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, tastefully furnished comfortable and well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pretty place ideal for a small party / family.
A lovely log fire did not take long to get going and heated this delightful cottage... wonderful! So we were soon able to relax and feel at home. The cottage is,cosy and decorated tastefully throughout. The beds are comfortable . Everything you could possibly need is catered for. The village is quiet the property is rural and beautifully situated with far reaching views and the local post office sells staples and some lovely local biscuits- try the ginger nuts !
The village pub serves meals and is very welcoming ( in fact when we ran out of logs they gave us some to keep going). Would love to take up residence here permanently and leave the rest of the world behind !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
We're so pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed the peace and the views - and the chance to 'leave the rest of the world behind'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The warmth, comfort, facilities, bed!
Liked least: Nothing, couldn't pick a fault if I tried!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
We're glad you liked our cottage and Rookhope village. We look forward to welcoming you both back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing