We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Al'Fosse 7

Al'Fosse 7
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Avion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The food was disappointing. Especially considering the good reviews on tripadvisor. The dishes were out of proportion. There was too much meat and not enough fries and vegetables. The meat in one of the dishes was more fat than meat. In the other dish the meat was very dry and overcooked with very little sauce. The sauce was shredded. The portion of fries was small and the fries had absorbed all the grease. The oil they were fried in was probably not hot enough.

Thank Duco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan F, Gérant at Al'Fosse 7, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Just wondering if you've selected the right restaurant for your coment! If you have red all the reviews and answers on our tripadvisor page you should have knew that there no problems to add vegetables or salad or fries without any extra charges. I don't know what to answer because I don't think this happened in our place...regards. Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Found this restaurant on trip advisor , and saw the good reviews.
Initially we had reservations as wondered if it was a little too themed.
Had to book by phone as email not used.
When we visited on Friday lunch time it was quite busy , our reservations were blown away by the friendly reception we were given and the food was terrific.
We left and made our way to the Louvre Gallery in Lens.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan F, Gérant at Al'Fosse 7, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Super! Many thanks for your coment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice restaurant with many interesting pictures and book on coal mines and miners life.
Food is very good and local. Good selections of beers.
Service efficient and kind.
Recommended!

Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Actually, not so much a brasserie as a popular local bar with good food and excellent beer. This is one of those joints known locally in French Flanders as estaminets, where the locals gather to drink, chat and eat hearty wholesome meals such as Carbonnade of ox cheek with chips and sliced vegetables, or Potje vleesche, which includes chicken, pork and veal, cooked in a pot in jelly. The steak is good too.

Just south of Lens in the little village of Avion, Al'Fosse 7 (Mineshaft No7) gets its name from the local mine, closed down in 1960. It has a mining theme, with pit props holding up the ceiling, and a greatfriendly, informal atmosphere.

There was a choice of three local beers on draught, and all three were good, though one had a pink tinge, which I think the waiter said was rhubarb. So that was a first.

A great place for lunch after visiting the Louvre-Lens gallery or the Lens 14-18 War and Peace History Centre.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PurleyRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We were recommended this restaurant by the owners of the B&B in Lievin where we stayed on our recent trip to France. The name of the restaurant refers to the local mines and the fact it is near pit number 7, the decor inside is made to look like you are down a mine tunnel, with coal like walls and wooden supports and black and white vintage pictures of miners and old mining lamps on the walls.
There is a very nice area outside where you can sit and dine, however due to the fact I was in a T-Shirt we decided to move inside. The food was excellent and the service very friendly, we were the only English people in there and the atmosphere was very jovial. There was a group nearby celebrating the birthday of a very old lady and the whole restaurant including ourselves joined in with singing happy birthday when the cake was brought out. The young manager, who was not around when we first arrived, spoke very good English but unless you speak French I would advise making sure you have a translation app on your phone to decipher the menu.
I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant and will definitely be returning when we go back to visit some of the war memorials we missed last time around.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al'Fosse 7 also viewed

 
Lens, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Al'Fosse 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing