We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
363
16
4
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
363
16
4
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful property our honeymoon bed and breakfast copper ceiling wonderful hosts other guests home away from home owners and staff couples massage short drive jetted tub road trip heather arbor pond chickens tree
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

My wife and I recently celebrated our 20th anniversary and wanted to spend it somewhere special- Talus Rock Retreat is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed. The owner and staff made sure that we had an amazing experience the entire stay. The pictures on the web are great, but its even more beautiful in person. We will definitely be coming back.

Thanks to the owners and staff for an awesome experience!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 274sadiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

Arrived in the afternoon. Was greeted by a lovely bunch of people and showed around the beautiful property! Booked the “Nooma” aka the whole downstairs level. Had a wonderful night with friends and family. And was helped with all questions and concerns very promptly! Couldn’t ask for more. It’s a must stay If you are coming through the small town Sandpoint Idaho!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sambO6885JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020

We recently stayed in the “Grand Arbor”. The coppered ceiling is beautiful and the “tree shower” was fun but the cleanliness of the room and lack of upper window blinds was problematic. The room really needs blinds or curtains on the upper windows so the sun doesn’t wake you at 5/530am. When we were shown to the room there was a Huge spider on the ceiling above the tub - management was nervous about trying to remove it so we said it wasn’t a problem ( I just kept an eye on it). There were also spider webs over one sink, over the jetted tub and in the window next to the bed. For the $357 a night (before taxes) you’d think they’d do a walk through to make sure it was clean and ready for guests. There are a lot of amenities but the grounds looked rough and there was construction near the parking area (which was poorly signed- we weren’t sure where to pull in to park.)

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suzannebM1479RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Coming to the retreat, one of the things I immediately liked was that it was tucked away within the trees, making it private and peaceful. The place was huge and beautifully built giving it a unique feel. I stayed in the Selkirk room, which was incredibly nice! I liked that the room felt spacious and there was even a cute loft to hang out in! The staff was so nice, thoughtful, and helpful with whatever I needed! I will definitely be coming back!! Highly recommend to anyone!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 429meagenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2020 via mobile

This is an quaint eccentric B&B on a lovely location in Sandpoint, Idaho. We were really looking forward to staying in an upscale accommodations after spending a week in west glacier hiking in the rain. At first, it looked promising, but after unpacking in our room, the kitchenette was dirty, dishwasher full of dirty dishes, the microwave had something gross blowup in it. Just greasy and dirty. We had to clean it all. The trash was not removed between guests. For what we paid a night, it should have been pristine.

We got past this, because the grounds were beautiful, but...we then found out there was a bachelorette party happening. This is not a big place. They kept us awake all night. The one and only hot tub was outside our room. There were 14 bachelorettes drinking and squealing outside our room till way past midnight. I don’t understand why they put us in this room if they knew they were having a bachelorette party. We would have stayed somewhere else. Breakfast was alright. We were pretty sleep deprived and the sun rises early in Idaho especially in a room full of windows without covers.

The grounds were beautiful. We sat on the deck for dinner and took in the mountains.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HeathenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather Pedersen, Owner at Talus Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2020

We hope this finds you safe and well at home. First off, thank you for sending us your honest description of your experience here at Talus Rock. We appreciate the candid feedback, as we take it very seriously. We hope that you accept our heartfelt apology while we address the issues. We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations for your stay as it is our central mission to provide a restful respite for everyone who enters our doors.

As we have augmented our cleaning staff to reinforce cleaning standards, some things were unacceptably overlooked during the new staff training. Based on your report of this anomaly, we immediately met as a team. We went through our checklists of best practices to address the issue and saw to it that it was promptly integrated and written into our staff and training procedures. To err is human, and while we strive to provide an incredible experience for each guest, every once in a blue moon, we miss the bar, as was with your stay.

As for the bachelorette party, we normally deter such events as we are first and foremost a peaceful lodging venue. Your experience reinforces the reason we turn so many away. On this particular occasion we did accept the party after a long conversation with the bride to be. We were assured it would be a small quiet gathering of 5 older gals and not a large party. Unfortunately, they arrived with 14 people, several of whom had booked other rooms without us realizing they were connected to the bridal party. We reiterated our policies for quiet hours within the retreat and asked them to respect the experience of other guests. We took them at their assurance that they would respect these firm boundaries. As their room and the spa are in the same wing of the house you were in, only you could hear them while we could not. We apologize for not attending to this for if we had known we would have immediately demanded they retire to their own space and respect the atmosphere of our retreat. We sincerely regret that the exception we made to accommodate others negatively impacted your enjoyment of Talus Rock.

Again, we are truly sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us. In an effort to make things better and perhaps change your mind, we would sincerely welcome you and your family back so that we can treat you with something special and show you what the Talus Rock Experience is really like!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews