We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Official Site
Agoda.com
US$189
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing weekend putting green hosts athens georgia bedroom renovation noise property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2020

I wonderful place to get away to ..but still be close enough catch a ball game in Athens or to see your students if they go to school there. Wonderful food and accommodations. Renovation of the HVAC system is so excellent my allergies disappeared the last time we stayed there. Great hospitality and food coupled with a beautiful home and surroundings.

Date of stay: November 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nrbyers2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward Toledano, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

We are so thankful for your return visit to the Gillen House. Thank you for the great patronage and support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, Cynzia and Edward were the best hosts!!! The house is beautifully restored and decorated, and the grounds are so lovely as well (we both loved the turtle pond!!!). The rooms had everything you could possibly need or want. The bed was comfy and the bathroom felt like a spa. It’s the perfect weekend getaway! This was such a relaxing weekend for my husband and me. We WILL be back:)

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ravelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward Toledano, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2020

We are so glad to have been selected for a little escape day and night! It is our hope that you will wander back down the road a bit and hang out with us soon. Thanks, Edward & Cynzia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020

A wonderful get-away close to Athens, Georgia and not too far from Atlanta. The owners are delightful, the house and grounds are beautiful, and all of the rooms are special. Great place for couples, business meeting or a special occasion. We had a lovely girls weekend in February on the property complete with a birthday dinner prepared by the owners. Cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward Toledano, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2020

Thanks for such kind words! We had a blast hosting you all and enjoyed the chance to get to know each of you. We look forward to your next visit. Edward & Cynzia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

My wife and I came over from Marietta for a high school reunion and we knew exactly where to stay, her old homestead. It has been several years since her family lived here so we were so excited to have an opportunity to enjoy the home once again and see all the amazing things Ed & Cynzia had done. We loved it all, sitting on the front porch, walking through all the old buildings, staying in my wife's old bedroom (The Rojo Room), having breakfast in the Buchanan Dining Room next to the Vinson Parlor and mostly connecting with Ed & Cynzia. They were such great hosts. We had the opportunity to share some old stories of our experience in the old home as well as hear about all the things that have happened since. Would recommend this to anyone looking to relax and get a piece of history of one of the most charming cities in the State of Georgia. Can't wait to return with friends in the Fall for a Geogia game. Thank You Ed & Cynzia.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J7098CPscotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Scott & Christie - What a wonderful experience to have you both "come home"! Learning about the many experiences in the house and around Maxeys was awesome. Thank you both for the time and we look forward to your return soon.
Cynzia & Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

My wife and I love this place. You feel like you are centered back to what's important after the day to day grind of the city. This restored 1920 house is decorated with a bright artistic flare and the peaceful grounds are just what one needs to recharge. The hosts Cynzia and Edward are experts at accommodating guests and their talents for art and cooking, along with hard work, allow this place to do it's magic on you. I would highly recommend you give it a try!

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Bill - Cynzia and I are so glad you two chose The Gillen House. Your kind words are much appreciated, and we are excited to know that the stay was enjoyed. Please make plans for another visit soon to get recharged. All the best to you both in the new year.
Edward & Cynzia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews