We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Official Site
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing weekend putting green hosts athens georgia bedroom renovation noise property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited this lovely home soon after it opened. We were awed by the restoration work that had been done so tastefully within and without the house. The bedrooms were large and beautifully decorated, and the bathrooms were all brand new and sophisticated. It’s obvious that Cynzia and Edward enjoy what they do and pass that enjoyment onto their guests. We recommend it highly.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NancyA273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2019

Nancy - Thanks for taking time to come and visit with us! It was a pleasure spending time with you both at our little spot in the country. And thank you for the wonderfully nice words about our enjoyment of what we are doing. We do truly enjoy this opportunity to share and visit with so many wonderful people like you two! Please come to see us again soon.
Cynzia & Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

Having already experienced Bulldog weekend in Athens many times we wanted to find a more tranquil inn where we could escape the noise while still having an easy drive to Sanford Stadium. The Gillen House in Maxeys was amazing. The entire place was recently renovated yet the decor and furniture seemed like it could have been there 100 years ago. The guest rooms and beds were luxurious and tastefully decorated and each room has its own large bathroom with modern fixtures. The owners are artists and their lovely works are found throughout the house, most of it for sale. You can also wander through their studio, the garden, ample grounds, pecan trees, bocce court, putting green and your choice of very comfortable porches. The Georgia country breakfasts were spectacular, made with fresh veggies and herbs directly from the garden. The owners are very responsive to whatever needs you might have — if they are available you can arrange additional meals and even transportation to the big game. Already looking forward to our next visit. Go Dawgs.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank X7740KCnickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Nick B -
We are so appreciative of your choosing to stay at The Gillen House for parents weekend with your daughter. Thanks for the kind words about our place. We strive to provide a respite in the country for our guests to enjoy themselves in a unique way, off the beaten path. Please do come and see us again on the next venture in this direction.
Cynzia & Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019

My daughter and I visited overnight in this amazing renovation. The attention to detail, comfort and beauty is 5 Star! The ambiance of the grounds, the living quarters, the presentation of meals is a treasure to be sure. The artwork displayed throughout the house makes youn feel you are not only spending time in the lap of luxury, but you have had the good luck to surround yourself in a tiny corner of heaven. Cynzia and Edward are the kind of hosts who take you into not only their home, but into their hearts. We look fo forward to our next visit.
...Having told friends about this, my only suggestion would be to offer a room with two double beds for those who would like to travel together, but sleep separately.

Room tip: You cannot go wrong, no matter which room you are given.
Date of stay: May 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 000Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

We thank you so much for taking time to visit with us. Understanding that there are many choices for you to escape, you very much honored us by choosing The Gillen House. It was a pleasure sharing with you and your daughter, and we enjoyed the chance to talk and relax with you both. Please let us know when you and come see us again. And thank you for being an owner of one of Cynzia's pieces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Edward and Cynzia obviously envisioned a dream for the Gillen House and they have fully made that vision a reality in opening this B&B. Truly top-notch is all aspects. Farm-to-table doesn't get any closer than Edward's garden and kitchen. Cynzia's artwork adorns much space in the wonderful, enormous rooms and hallways, the newest painted in her in-house studio. We are now the proud owners of one her pieces. We've already booked a return visit for late-September.

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Jim - Cynzia and I thank you both for coming to stay at the Gillen House. The vision we had for this great property has indeed come out as we had desired. We are happy that you enjoyed the down time here and that you have booked another stay with us soon. As the weather pattern transitions to Fall, we are looking forward to welcoming guests for front porch hang out time and the wonderful sunsets on the back 40.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Gillen House for a weekend get away in June and really enjoyed seeing this historic home that was completely renovated prior to opening in the late spring. This couple will host you and entertain you ....or give you all the space you desire. Cynzia is an accomplished artist and Chef Edward lays out an outstanding breakfast. Together they are prefect hosts - we highly recommend this B&B for a weekend or a week! I included a picture of the back yard looking out over the pond, garden and putting green... it was a superb morning coffee spot!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank coolblueinteractive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

We appreciate these kind words and the time you took to hang out with us at The Gillen House. It was so enjoyable to have ya'll here and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews