We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Official Site
US$178
View Deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
17
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing weekend putting green hosts athens georgia bedroom renovation noise property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 17 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Edward and Cynzia obviously envisioned a dream for the Gillen House and they have fully made that vision a reality in opening this B&B. Truly top-notch is all aspects. Farm-to-table doesn't get any closer than Edward's garden and kitchen. Cynzia's artwork adorns much space in the wonderful, enormous rooms and hallways, the newest painted in her in-house studio. We are now the proud owners of one her pieces. We've already booked a return visit for late-September.

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Jim - Cynzia and I thank you both for coming to stay at the Gillen House. The vision we had for this great property has indeed come out as we had desired. We are happy that you enjoyed the down time here and that you have booked another stay with us soon. As the weather pattern transitions to Fall, we are looking forward to welcoming guests for front porch hang out time and the wonderful sunsets on the back 40.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Gillen House for a weekend get away in June and really enjoyed seeing this historic home that was completely renovated prior to opening in the late spring. This couple will host you and entertain you ....or give you all the space you desire. Cynzia is an accomplished artist and Chef Edward lays out an outstanding breakfast. Together they are prefect hosts - we highly recommend this B&B for a weekend or a week! I included a picture of the back yard looking out over the pond, garden and putting green... it was a superb morning coffee spot!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank coolblueinteractive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Owner at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

We appreciate these kind words and the time you took to hang out with us at The Gillen House. It was so enjoyable to have ya'll here and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

What a treasure this place is, along with its’ hosts Cynzia and Edward. The house is newly remodeled and has such large, spacious areas. My room, Amarillo (Yellow), was as large as my own living room and so bright and sunny. Sitting under ceiling fans on the expansive wrap-around porch was delightful and certainly brought about the start of my relaxing weekend in Maxeys, Georgia. Be sure to find time to visit the turtles in the large pond out back. There’s nothing like sipping a cold beverage and putting your feet up while listening to the sounds of nature as the sun sets. Such a delightful spot and I’m glad to have made the trip. The hustle of Atlanta seemed far, far away.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveleret, Manager at The Gillen House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019

Thank you Pam L - We are so appreciative of your kind words. The turtles enjoyed their cold beverage time with you!! Come back soon.

Cynzia and Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC