We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
60
24
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
24
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river the pub lower lode beaten track lovely location warm friendly welcome reasonable value family room sat nav main bar full english breakfast following morning resident cat weekend stay lamb shank food was lovely watch the world
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a wedding here.
Had dinner the first night which was lovely and well cooked, there was a little wait for our food to arrive but was worth the wait as amazing and don't mind waiting when everything is cooked to order. Breakfast was lovely and had plenty of choices.
The room I stayed in was a twin room at the back of the inn which clean and uncluttered. There was a small bistro table outside which nice to sit there and have a drink.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help and will definitely be returning back for another weekend break.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Owner at Lower Lode Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Samantha, thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for giving us the perfect rating. We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodation and food, as well as our staff service. We take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can and work really hard to give guests the best food in a relaxed and friendly environment. We look forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

First time in attendance to this location. Absolutely beautiful and idyllic setting by the river. Pub and food excellent. Camping is also available. Highly recommended.located just outside Tewkesbury easy access off the motorway.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank boo4jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Owner at Lower Lode Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear happy guest, thank you for your great review of our pub and for recommending us to other visitors. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the setting, we love it too! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Located next to the River Severn, Tewkesbury, it's a great stop off by boat, motorbike or car. I've just experienced the Barflys annual rally there, and they are friendly and welcoming. The pub itself is quite quaint and a lovely place for lunch or dinner. Recommended for a country escape, to enjoy peace and quiet and wonderful nature nearby.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Owner at Lower Lode Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Sam, thank you for taking time to write a review of our Inn and for recommending us to other visitors. We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend here at the Barflys rally and look forward to seeing you again if you are visiting our area:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Went to the Lower Lode while staying in Tewkesbury, it is still a great bikers pub and we were lucky that there was a rally going on so some great music being blasted out! Had some lunch which was reasonable value although there was quite a wait but there are signs warning you of this. Love the place and will return.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NessieNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Owner at Lower Lode Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear happy customer, we are so glad you enjoyed visiting us at our pub. We apologise for the longer delay on food orders when you were here...over the weekend of the Tewkesbury Medieval Fayre we host the Barflys rally and it is our busiest weekend of the year! We look forward to seeing you again soon:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Three of us (adults) stayed here for a weekend. We had the family room between us.
The room is split into two with a double bed and a bunk bed in one half and a double bed in the other half.
The building itself is very old but in excellent condition. Our room was on the small side but this was to be expected with the building and was not an issue at all.
THe room was clean and comfortable. The beds are very well fitted out and again were very comfortable.
The ensuite was big enough for our needs and plenty of hot water from the shower.
There is a flat screen TV in each half of the room.
THis room is an ideal family room and also suited the three of us adults.
.
We were served breakfast at the end of the dining area. The breakfast we had was a traditional English breakfast and it was fit for a king. Arrived in a timely manner, hot plates, hot food, plenty of toast tea/coffee.
I would recommend the accommodation here as a genuine english B and B, great staff, a pub/restaurant below and beautiful location.

Room tip: Our room overlooked the river.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellingCouple64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Owner at Lower Lode Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us and for your positive comments. That kind of feedback can go a long way. We take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. We hope your next stay is just around the corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews