We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations”
Review of Yalaha Bakery

Yalaha Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Yalaha
Price range: US$6 - US$8
Cuisines: European, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Genuine German Breads & Old World Tortes and PastriesAt Yalaha Bakery, bread is recognized as an ancient form of wholesome sustenance, the 'Staff of Life,' and most of all, an incredibly delicious and vital part of one’s diet. Our healthy, hearty breads are free from preservatives, chemical additives, fat and cholesterol, which makes them a perfect part of a wholesome, nutritional diet.Our customers appreciate the taste, aroma and texture of our spectacular breads. Yalaha Bakery breads are handcrafted by skilled bakers and baked to perfection in European stone-slab ovens. Our discriminating patrons treasure good health, so they value our breads. Our staff takes great personal delight in serving you and is proud to offer our exquisite array of breads and confections.Please, explore our site to learn more about our old world German breads and European cakes and pastries.
Reviewed 5 March 2021

-Woman working behind bakery counter rudely admonished customers (re: social distancing even though everyone was wearing masks and not too close)
- Sandwich counter was unstaffed for greater than 10 minutes, creating unnecessary line
-draft beer "out of order", bottled beer was warm, Beeper never went off and no evidence that our food was waiting after two trips inside to check, orders did not emerge until worker came outside asking around looking customers (us) "did anyone order this?"
- Bakery items just so-so, some tasted kind of old
- But..the silver lining...the restrooms were very nice and clean. And, the outdoor setting this very nice!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Finlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2021

Having lived in Germany for 12 years, I was happy to discover this authentic German restaurant/bakery and enjoyed it's offerings on several occasions.
However, last Saturday while patronizing this establishment, we masked and social distanced without incident until we got to the doorway. A dark haired woman who was monitoring the number of people entering at one time was rude to EVERYONE!!! She was sharp and curt to the customers waiting in line but worse was how she spoke to the employees, who were working their tails off. As she snapped orders at them, one employee came around the counter to speak privately with her and her reply was, "if you leave now, don't come back!" Not sure if the owners are aware that she is the first impression customers have of their business. No amount of baked goods is worth abusive verbal behavior.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

We visit every few month from the Orlando area and are always very pleased with our purchases. We've purchased pastry, cookies and breads, which always exceed our expectations. Although the breads don't have preservatives (which is good) so just the two of us can never get through the entire loaf before it goes bad. I ALWAY top it off with a fresh baked German style pretzel, which are fabulous.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OrlandoSGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020 via mobile

Bread not worth the premium price. We did not purchase the pastries, but decided the breads that we bought were not worth the price charged. Perhaps they are based their reputation.Would not make a special trip.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank TomReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020

I had such high expectations but unfortunately not met. Drove 90 minutes with my German husband to get an authentic German lunch and beer.
We both had the Hunter Schnitzel with spartzle and red cabbage. He wanted a draft beer but the pump was not working so he settled for a bottle.
The mushroom gravy was cold and the spaetzel and cabbage were ordinary. For $13+ each it was underwhelming. While waiting we were handed a beeper that was not clean. Neither were the tables inside or out. Plastic dinnerware at a self serve stand. That also made me uneasy. No paper towels in the bathrooms.
We bought some streusel to take home. It was ok. At least our utensils and table were clean.
Tried to purchase some white brats to take home but the price posted was lower than the price charged and they said they could not override it so we left them behind.
All in all pretty disappointing.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Heizzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yalaha Bakery also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Howey in the Hills, Lake County
 
Howey in the Hills, Lake County
Howey in the Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Yalaha Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.