We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden Gem in Hernando County

This is a lovely gem of a park in Hernando County, near Wickee-Wachee. Not too crowded, not too... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2020
Pamela W
Nice small beach with calm shallow water

Nice small little beach. $5 entry. Cute playground. Nice little cafe with some good eats! Calm warm... read more

Reviewed 16 July 2020
Carrie K
Read all 385 reviews
  
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
180
136
44
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
136
44
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shallow water hernando county nice beach spring hill palm trees small beach area concession stand tropical breeze hermit crabs covered picnic tables nice picnic white sand hernando beach saw dolphins playground gulf pavilions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The water stays fairly shallow so it is fantastic for those with little kids. We were never worried about the water being high or riptides, etc. We did see some wildlife. There is a refreshment stand, bathrooms, outdoor shower facilities. There is a playgroung for little ones and also some picnic areas with grills. We had a fantastic time at this beach. We did have to pay to park but it was only $5.00.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank KellydJ423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The girls, 5 and 10 loved this beach! The water was shallow, seemed like for miles (a little exaggeration). They were able to go out almost as far as I was able to and still be able to stand and water not be above their heads. The waves were mild on this particular day and a little overcast. By this being our last beach visit before we got on the road to come home, we were able to rinse all the sand off and change into dry clothes. After driving around the parking lot for about 10 minutes, we finally found a parking space. The restrooms were clean and vending machines were provided. It was kind of fun to see the beach pine needles come in with the waves. My family will visit this beach again.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank WaterBeachSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Please notice the website for this place only has 3 photos. There is not a 4th good photo you could take. Was there as the tide was coming in and the water was brown but decent visibility, maybe 20 ft. in any direction. I saw a decent sized stingray, a few little fish, and one strange fish, I think might be a gobi. Somehow I saw not a single sea shell.
The place is ok if you're already up in Hernando County for some other reason, but not worth making a trip for.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank HelpfulHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We have been many times this summer, more than any other summer before! What keeps us coming back, is that it is an awesome beach for young children, not over crowded, clean, nice to spend a few hours and not have to pay a ton for parking. Sunsets are beautiful. It's fun to go durning the day and play or for an evening to grill out dinner.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Sherryberry921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pine Island is a beautiful place to watch the sunset, observe crabs, starfish, hermit crabs, baby blowfish, and other little sea creatures. Many evenings, the dolphins come in to feed and frolic around. There are picnic shelters, but never enough for the immense number of people there. Many times, the parking lot has to be closed because it is full. The water is rather still and very warm, feeling like a warm bathtub. For some, this may be a plus. There is plenty of beach space, a volleyball area, playground, and a snack bar. Bathrooms are not too bad and there are a couple outdoor showers and foot washes. As the title suggests, Pine Island has some good points and some not so good points which is why it earned an average rating.

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews