We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome bartenders and servers.”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Consistent delicious fresh food, cooked and served to perfection. Friendly personable hardworking servers. Loved Doc Ford’s Hammerhead Wit on draft from Palm City Brewing, Fort Meyers. Calamari appetizers and scallop entree special. There’s a gift shop on site to purchase clothing and other unique Doc Ford’s souvenirs.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank HarbourIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (6,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 6,936 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2022

We visit Sanibel at least once a year and a meal at Doc Ford's is a must. The atmosphere is excellent - first class. Everything on their menu is superb. My favorite is the Yucatan shrimp with a side of Jalapeño cheese grits. The staff is excellent and goes out of their way to make your experience exceptional. You have to try this restaurant for a great dining experience! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 867merleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2022

We ate outside on patio. Service was EXCELLENT. Their "Island's Best Fish Sandwich" did not disappoint. Flatbread Pizza was good. A must for atmosphere, service and good food.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank rhondarK98GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2022

Having visited Sanibel many times over the years this was our first meal here. This is a large busy restaurant and we managed to grab the last parking space then wondered would we find a table? We were seated immediately inside and our server was on the ball. We ordered a couple of drinks and then ordered Crispy Calamari as an appetizer to share, it was enormous!! For mains I had the grouper sandwich and my husband had the jumbo shrimp. The food was really good and we will add Doc Fords to our list of Sanibel restaurants the next time we visit.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjkj3246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 June 2022 via mobile

Excellent!! Our friends recommend Doc Ford's and even made a reservation for us. Wow, just wow. They were incredible. Prompt seating, a friendly, knowledgeable server named Mia, delicious drinks and I could keep going. The Paella was scrumptious. Excellent flavors, seafood perfectly cooked, huge portion size (my hubby & I shared and they brought another bowl so we had our own plates, without charging any additional $ for sharing). The Island Mule is super refreshing and delish. Coconut creme Brule? You must. It is divine. Thank you, Mia and Doc Ford's for making our first night here so memorable.

Date of visit: June 2022
1  Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.