We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“added tip w/o warning for a party of 4”

Casa Maya Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 574 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Cozy house-turned-restaurant dispatching upmarket Latin dishes inside or on its patio & terrace.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

The food was good. The setting nice. The service was fine...until the check came. There were only 4 of us and a tip was added without warning. I actually do not mind a tip being added if I am told. I understand why restaurants do this with large groups and then expect it (and it says it on the menu). What really was upsetting is that they then left a space for additional tip!

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Pasqualinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Good food in the middle of old town. Seems like they have live music every night. Our server was nice and quick. We were in a hurry, but it seems like a place you could settle in for a while.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank mgudwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

After reading reviews we weren’t sure what to expect at Casa Maya. We were seated promptly upstairs on a porch that overlooks the street. Our server, Riley, was very good. She made sure we had what we needed without hovering. We started with a carafe of red sangria. It was delicious, but my advice is to have at least 3 people to drink that amount, especially if you are sitting upstairs! Our appetizer was chips and salsa. You receive two chips, which are actually baked corn tortillas and a dish of salsa. I found the salsa a bit bland; no spark to it really. Our entrees were outstanding! I had the chicken fajitas with flour tortillas. The chicken was ample, the vegetables cooked to perfection and plentiful. My husband had the carnitas.it looked terrific, and he really liked it. We were too full for dessert, but we do plan to go back. An added bonus was the live entertainment on the first floor in the garden.

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021

Over the years we have enjoyed Mexican and Southwest food in both Mexico and Southern California, and it is hard to get really good Mexican food in other places. So we could be pretty critical about it if it isn't up to par.

We had a late lunch/early dinner here on our second day in St. Augustine. They don't take reservations, so if we came later I was not sure what we would be in for because of the crowds.

We wanted to sit inside because it wasn't real warm out, but there were no tables available inside, so we sat outside in a sheltered kind of tent with plastic sides and a heater inside. Not the best atmosphere, but it was comfortable.

We started with a shared mixed Ceviche appetizer. Good flavor both the shrimp and the octopus and not chewy at all! Authentic in the lime/lemon juice, and pretty delightful! Next a couple of cups of Mayan Soup. Really nice! I could have ordered a bowl of it! Finally we had Tempeh tacos. We have never had Tempeh before, and it roughly has the texture of tofu. The sauce, presentation and flavor was really good. Glad we tried it!

Our server was very attentive and helpful, so overall a good experience.

Excellent Mexican food!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021

Absolutely the worst steak fajitas I have ever had. Gray small tough pieces of some sort of meat that was supposed to be steak. The other 3 people had decent meals. The service however was great.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davideX7210RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Maya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.