We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere ”

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us went the The Celtic for a few drinks and dinner. What a great place this is, the place was fairly full but we still managed to get two tables that we put together. We all had food, and the food came in good time, nice and hot and very tasty. We stayed to listen to the band that was on that night and overall had a great night out.

Thank Sandswestran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon,

We are so happy to hear that your experience here at the Ray was a good one, and that you enjoyed the food, drinks, and entertainment. We hope to have you all back in here soon. Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. Have a lovely Thursday!

Sláinte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Celtic Ray is an authentic Irish Bar, open late and has great food! Everyone friendly and service is good.

Thank 973micheles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to have you back in here soon. Have a magnificent Monday!


Sláinte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We are snowbirds at stopped in here on one of our last days in Punta Gorda. What a nice find it was. We had seen crowds at this pub on St. Patrick's Day and said we needed to go there. It is true Irish pub grub. We both had fish and chips that was delicious. In true pub style you order at the counter and the food will be delivered to your table. The only thing missing was the Irish brogue! Stain glass windows are wonderful.
Looks like a cement patio s going i he back. It will be a great addition.

Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good Morning Liz,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and rating. We are so happy you found us before you head back home for the summer, and we hope to have you back in here when you return. Have a wonderful day!

Sláinte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

One if our visitors birthday was on St Paddys Day so she wanted to go to an Irish Pub. The Celtic Ray was the PERFECT choice!!! The live music was good. The food set up worked very well for fairly quick service. They had a line behind the building where you placed your order and then picked up your food. The challenge was finding a place to sit/stand to eat. Bring your own lawn chairs. We will be there again next St Paddys Day!

Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Good Morning Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are so happy to hear how much you all enjoyed celebrating St. Patrick's Day here with us, and we are delighted to hear you'll be back next year. We hope to have you back in here soon, and hope you have a wonderful day!

Sláinte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Very good tried the tandoori, but my favorite is the fish and fries. Many choices for beer on tap. The place gets really busy.

Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Good Afternoon Janet,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub! We are delighted to hear how much you love the tandoori and fish & chips. We hope to have you back in here soon to enjoy another pint {or two}. Have a wonderful weekend!

Sláinte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing