We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
US$336
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pestana Miami South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Freehand Miami(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$296
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$171
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Hotel of South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,001)
Filter reviews
3,001 results
Traveller rating
2,094
594
188
75
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,094
594
188
75
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbltpopoversrolling stonesocean drivetv in the mirrorcolonial stylesouth beachrooftop deckboutique hotelart decobeautiful hotelfront porchturn down servicelobby barsmall hotelpeople watchinglincoln road
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 3,001 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We were in Miami to visit the Art museums and art district and decided to stay on South Beach. The Betsy was great. Not big, and very personal. The outdoor cafe was good, and the pool was great at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Best to get rooms with Ocean View
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetsyManagement, Owner at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear William B,

It’s exciting to learn that you came to South Beach in order to enjoy the vibrant cultural scene. Indeed, within a stones throw of our Hotel, you find some very exemplary organizations – New World Symphony (for example), and many galleries (such as The Bass and Wolfsonian. And, as you say, Wynwood Walls, the remarkable murals are definitely worth seeing and they are only a short Uber ride away.

Our hotel fine-dining restaurant, LT Steak and Seafood, offers a front terrace that is perfectly situated for people watching while eating – so glad you enjoyed it.

And… our new suspended pool has been a ‘gift that keeps on giving’ for guests like you, with 360 degree views of City and Sea. Sounds like you spent some quality time there as well.

Thank you for taking the time to share news of your trip.

Deborah Plutzik Briggs
Vice President, The Betsy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Our trips to the beach were amazing because of Demetrius and axel great customer service. Natalie was the chashier she was outstanding she welcome us with a big smile and great afternoon, I really love The Beach Service The Beasty Provide at the beach , I will Recommend This Hotel To My Friends and family

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank chasmins2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetsyManagement, Owner at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Chasmins 2018,

Demetrius is our designated beach service assistant for all of our guests and he does a great job. Anyone who reads a number of our reviews will see him and Natalie mentioned again and again. Quite simply, they do a great job.

Thanks for the review and for the offer to share your great experience at The Betsy Hotel with friends and family.

Deborah Plutzik Briggs
Vice President, The Betsy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Demetrius & Charles were amazing! They took care of us from beginning to end, they were very quick and reliable. Natalie was also very sweet and helpful. They made my experience great. :) We will be back soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rashai' P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetsyManagement, Owner at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Rashai' P,

A perfect beach experience is definitely an important part of any South Beach stay. At the Betsy we’re proud to work with a beach team that puts guests first.

Demetrius, Charles, and Natali – are three great hospitality professionals who clearly love what they do.

Do come back soon!

Deborah Plutzik Briggs
Vice President, The Betsy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We arrived 6 hours early and were checked-in and upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise. Not sure if that was because I told them I could never get through either time I tried to call them when we were on our way, but it all worked out. Our room was on the 2nd floor in the Art Deco building. That's right, there's 2 buildings. Sooooo, to get to our room we had to take an elevator up to a 3rd floor bridge, cross over to our building, then take another elevator down to our room on the 2nd floor. It was a bit confusing finding our way around, but I'd stay there again if I could just have a room on the 3rd floor. The king sized bed was sooooo comfortable, and the white marble bathroom was very nice too, but oddly there were no hooks to hang anything on. The free continental breakfast was very nice, and you had the option of adding on hot breakfast items as well since it was in the main restaurant. The lobby and lobby bar was very nice too, with evening music. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay in that location, directly across the street from the beach, and a street lined with good places to eat.

Room Tip: Try to avoid having to use multiple elevators to connect the lobby area with your room!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyjo626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetsyManagement, Owner at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Cindyjo626,

You closed your review by saying that you can’t imagine a nicer place to stay …. with a location directly at the beach, and a street lined with great places to eat. And the beds passed the test … you said they were super comfortable. Thank you for the kind words.

And the review’s title … “What a classy hotel this was, in such a wild place!"

In the midst of some of the lively activities that take place on South Beach (especially as the night moves into morning), The Betsy is a respite away from the fray. This is the slice of solitude we’ve worked hard to create, and I’m so pleased that, that is what you experienced.

Thanks again for sharing your great experience.

Deborah Plutzik Briggs
Vice President, The Betsy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I wanted to love this hotel so much

Don't get me wrong, there are many pluses. First those:
The restaurant is great to sit outside and people watch. Friendly staff and breakfast and food was good too!
Nice bar area inside as well.
The suite was beautiful. Impeccably decorated and a great view to the water. It is in the old part of the hotel which I definitely recommend staying in over the newer part which faces the back and lacks the character of the original part.

Now the not so great part:
We stayed in the most expensive room in the hotel and they still hadn't made our room up by 3pm and didn't seem to care when we called.
The noise is insane with the spring break crowd. I had to bang on someones door at 4am after spending 10 minutes listening to a drunk girl yell at her boyfriend. At one time this was a classic hotel and not meant for spring breakers but over the years, with the demise of the surrounding area, its unfortunate that the boutique hotel has lost it's "class" for lack of a better word. Stay a little further north for a more upscale atmosphere. Not trying to sound like a snob here. Just depends on what you want.
There were no drawers etc. so you had to live out of your suitcase. Just something to be aware of when you are spending a fortune to stay in the room.
The suite looks like it has a terrace but it's really just overlooking a terrace that you can't access and the windows were really dirty.
The only outdoor areas are on the roof basically and there is no area in the shade. The pool is in the back of the hotel overlooking air vents. The courtyard on the main floor is very small and depressing and you sit and face a wall. It's just not welcoming or enjoyable.
While it's on the beach, there isn't beach staff really so you can't get drinks etc. Just something to note in case that is what you are expecting. The chairs are included but you have to pay a fee for the umbrellas (pretty standard for Miami but this is meant to be a luxury hotel).
Minor little thing but the elevator is pitch black...A note to the hotel here - a little bit of lighting would be nice.

Overall I think the main problem is that this is a boutique hotel trying to survive in the heart of south beach which has lost it's charm over the years. A difficult situation to be in. Housekeeping staff could really be improved but they have done a great job maintaining the overall character of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetsyManagement, Owner at The Betsy - South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Olivia B,

Your review was detailed and so useful to us as we seek to be the very best hotel we can be. Thank you for sharing the good and things you feel need to be better addressed.

We owe our memorable design to a team of Italian designers who worked with us on both the Colonial (original) side of the hotel and the (new) Art Deco wing. Indeed, we think they have great taste. We appreciate that you noticed as well.

What I gleaned most from your review is that it sounds like you deserved more attention than was provided, from start to finish. And so I understand your sense of disappointment.

A quick comment on the size of our historic rooms, indeed some of them are modest in size. But there are so many different room designs and layouts at The Betsy Hotel, and each room has places to store clothing and other travel items. I only wish a member of the guest services team had come to assist you.

We want you to love our hotel so much – I look forward to being in touch personally, soon.

Deborah Plutzik Briggs
Vice President, The Betsy Hotel
dbriggs@thebetsyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews