We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$200
View deal
Official Site
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/21
ZenHotels.com
US$180
View deal
PricelineUS$200
Hotels.comUS$196
eDreamsUS$200
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
485
389
170
67
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
485
389
170
67
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broken shaker shared room south beach cool vibe pool area common areas enjoyed my stay nice pool hostel dorm miami backpackers block roommates hip privacy vibes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2021

I like people from different cultures, staff people was attentive and helpful. The hosel is one block to the beach, and has free bikes. However, Most hostels have a breakfast and give priority to their customers in common areas, so this is missing at freehand.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yesseniacclaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021

We stayed here hoping to enjoy the pool and bar, which our friend had recommended. But the bar doesn’t open while the pool is open, and then a big crowd of people from outside the hotel came with reservations at the bar and restaurant. As guests paying an expensive room rate (almost $400) we were not able to get a drink or any food except from room service, but then the room wasn’t very nice. There’s a cool vibe at this hotel and I wanted to like it, but wouldn’t recommend staying here. Stay somewhere else and make a reservation for the bar or restaurant instead.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexdparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jermaine Andderson, General Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alexdparsons, thank you for the feedback. Yes, our bar Broken Shaker opens in the evening and is open to all guest . Reservations are highly recommended if you want a table. For guest staying with us, we offer an area within our courtyard them to enjoy the vibes look for the red chairs. We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Jermaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021

My daughter and I stayed for two days. If you love old buildings and history THIS is for you. The staff is awesome across the board. The outside area is amazing and beautiful. The BEST linens and towels I seen in ANY hotel. We ordered from the resturant and it was DELISH!! If your looking for a modern new shiney building this is not for you. It's old and has some wear on her old bones, BUT it's like stepping back in history. You can just imagine the people that have come through this hotle through the decades. The smell people talk about is the sulfa water in the ground water. We only noticed when we first checked in. But I lived in south florida I know what sulfa water smells like. It's all over Florida. The Freehand smelled just fine. It's super close to the beach and EVERY resturant you can imagine. We used the FREE bicycles and had a WONDERFUL ride down to southbeach. The only negative was the parking. BUT thats a problem all over Miami Beach. We had a great time and would do it all over again. If your looking for the Hampton Inn or Hilton this is not for you. BUT if you like to try new unique things while still being safe and comportable, then this is a great little adventure.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank victoriarice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

The generous and kind staff, concept of sharing space, the herb garden, and the location was a moment of heaven in a challenging tender time we are all living through. I so appreciated the time alone, and the possibility of community when desired.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank laura Marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021


I've stayed in both the hotel and the hostel part over the years. I love that it's close to the beach, and the atmosphere is chill and relaxed for Miami. Everything is clean, and the staff always goes over and beyond with customer service. I love this place.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank makeupbyk2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews