We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Melody M
Calgary, Canada

Pre-cruise stay for 2 nights

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2024via mobile
Front desk staff were rude to deal with upon check in. Charged $35 for destination fee and a resort fee but pools closed and no information provided on alternatives. Provided a view of the park add and the windows on the patio were so filthy it was hard to describe. Super disappointing. 3 guests which I paid the extra $50 for and did not even receive a 3rd bottle of water. Only 2 as a “welcome gift”. I have stayed at many Mariott and associated to the chain hotels and was incredibly let down. Would not stay here again.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear melodym378,

Thank you for your loyalty to our brands and for choosing our hotel during your time in the city. We hope your cruise experience was enjoyable. We regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, especially considering your positive experiences with other Marriott-associated hotels in the past. The unpleasant interaction with one of our front desk associates deeply concerns us, and we are taking immediate steps to address this internally as it does not align with the service we aim to provide. Additionally, regarding the destination fee and the ongoing pool revitalization, we strive to ensure our guests are well-informed, and we genuinely regret any lapse in communication that may have impacted your experience.

Moreover, please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issues you encountered with the patio windows. We will address this promptly with our housekeeping team to prevent such occurrences in the future. We understand the frustration caused, and we genuinely appreciate your patience and understanding. We sincerely hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to make it up to you the next time you are in the area.

Maria Scafuro
Senior Rooms Operation Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$238
  • Priceline
  • Hampton
    $238
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
Enjoy our bayfront hotel perfectly situated at Bayside and downtown Miami
$385
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    $378
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Pool
Restaurant
$238
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
$295
  • Priceline
    $355
  • Lol.travel
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $355
9.3 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Gorgeous resort style airport hotel
$224
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
9.3 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Pool
Restaurant
$194
  • Priceline
    $194
  • BestWestern.com
    $195
  • Skyscanner.com
    $196
10.1 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $229
1.6 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $391
  • Official Site
1.4 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $281
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $342
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Miami
Reviews (4,811)
Filter reviews
4,811 results
Traveller rating
2,497
1,429
535
184
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,497
1,429
535
184
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscayne bay catch restaurant safety and security south beach the concierge lounge pre cruise stay cruise port self parking hotel restaurant valet service per day hazel junior norberto pagan balcony officer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 4,811 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

Clean, friendly front office staff. Our room was near elevators so a little noise. I would recommend for a short stay. Near shopping and restaurants by foot. When we arrived there was a lot of wind and the weather was fair. There was wind noise in our room.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Mark G,

Thank you for choosing Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay while you were in Miami for business. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our convenient location in proximity to several restaurants and shopping options. It was also delightful to know you appreciated our friendly front desk associates. However, please accept our apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced in your accommodations due to the room being close to the elevator. We would have been happy to try and resolve the issue or move you to another room. In the future, please know our front desk is always available to help make you as comfortable as possible. We value your business and hope to see you again on your next visit.

Maria Scafuro
Senior Rooms Operation Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

What could otherwise have been a very pleasant stay was overshadowed by a marketing practice that is ethically doubtful. Upon check-in, they give you a card with a $35 voucher on it to be spent in their restaurant or store. They imply that this is a free voucher. What they do not tell you is that this $35 would be charged to your account upon check out and disguised as a tax of some sort. As a result, there is zero advantage to this voucher. If anything, it encourages you to spend more at their hotel restaurant.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jeantS2091BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Dear jeantS2091BW,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We regret your disappointment with our destination fee. These fees are competitively priced and listed on our website. We apologize if this was not adequately communicated to you, and we will share your comments appropriately. Thank you again; we hope you will choose us the next time you come to Miami.

Maria Scafuro
Senior Rooms Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

It was my first time in this Marriott property, but I’m sure I will not return and would not recommend it either to anyone. The main issues here:

1. The property (especially the room) was dirty, please see attached pictures. Hair on the balcony, dust above bed, dirt and pieces of food under the bed… Properties charging $400 a night (plus taxes) should not be in filthy condition.

2. Staff: The staff in this property were generally unfriendly and not committed and passionate. On the first day the bellboy counting tips publicly??? The front desk employee, Lilly was explicitly rude during the check-in process. Maria, the front office manager was completely incompetent when I was talking to her and she was laughing in my face. This is NOT AT ALL acceptable at any hotel or hospitality firm that is living from guests that are paying. Additionally, she was not aware that I have made the reservation during the chain’s Bonvoy application. She was telling me that I made my reservation on booking.com. So I wonder how “it pays to book direct” which is the slogan of the company.

3. Parking charges: I was using valet parking for one night only. However, I was charged for two nights of valet parking. When telling this to the front office employee, Lilly during check-out, she still didn’t remove it from the bill. Moreover, in my confirmation email it was $39 a night, while they charged $42 dollars for that. I had to request to adjust the charges twice. It’s not about $3 but more about trying to nickel and dime the guests.

4. Breakfast: I have made the reservation for 3 adults this time. I booked the breakfast included package, which means that breakfast should be included in the room rate. However, during the breakfast I was charged for one person as the hotel claimed that only 2 adults and 2 children has the breakfast included. It was not mentioned anywhere, nor during check-in, nor when I got a table in the restaurant. The front office manager, Maria did not even understand I was telling to her.

During the check-out process, several guests were waiting for a manager or supervisor. That signals that something is just not right in this property. I am a Silver Elite member of the Bonvoy loyalty program (soon to be gold), and I was treated like this. My only question is that how they treat “regular” guests, who are as important as any other member of their loyalty program.

I recommend you to book another hotel when coming to Miami, particularly the Hilton which is right behind this bad Marriott property.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tourist07377431163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Dear Tourist07377431163,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit and for your loyalty as a Marriott Bonvoy Silver Elite member. We are genuinely sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your recent visit to our hotel. Providing exceptional customer service is a top priority for us; therefore, we deeply regret if there was any lapse in our service standards. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we are committed to improving our services as we always strive to exceed our guests' expectations. We sincerely hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a more pleasant and memorable stay. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024

We stayed during winter holidays and I think we made a good choice. Unlike many others, this hotel meets 2 essential common sense requirements: opening window for fresh air (a balcony even) and self parking (39 usd/day).
It was quiet all the time, the view was awesome, heating did the job (although took some time), the rooms - modern and the tv - quite big. It's at a walkable distance to downtown, close to a park and in a nice neighborhood.
The hallway was shockingly cold and breakfast room was not warm either.
The unsatisfactory factor was the 35 usd daily tax, which was perceived automatically and which you are trying to give a meaning by having breakfast, only to get to pay even more. For example, buffet breakfast for 2 is about 85 usd; you deduce the 35 usd tax and still pay 50 usd; so, to avoid a useless expense, you get to spend much more, which is unfair and disrespectful.
Then, the breakfast organization is something of a mix between a restaurant and a breakfast room. We miss the point why we should interact with a waiter during breakfast; is it just to create jobs? Or is it rather a bad management solution? That staff could be used to make a more operative breakfast, that people can actually enjoy without boring unnecessary chitchat.
Another issue is that they progressively block the card for more than the actual price (for incidentals, so to say), then when you leave they retain the price from the card, but don't immediately cancel previously blocked amounts, which get unblocked significantly later, like after 10-15 days. So you need to have more than the double price on your card. This, however, happened in other Marriotts too.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mi2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Dear Mi2080,

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent visit to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay. While we are glad you had an overall pleasant stay with us, we understand your concerns regarding the destination fee and any confusion it may have caused. While we strive to make all fees transparent during the booking process, your feedback highlights the importance of continuously improving our communication. Any incidental hold remaining on your card will be refunded to your account, which can take your bank a few business days to process. We also want to apologize for any discomfort you experienced during breakfast and in the lobby area due to the temperature. Your specific feedback will help us improve the experience for all our guests, and we are grateful for your understanding. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Maria Scafuro,
Senior Rooms Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

Stayed 3 Nights/4 Days at the Marriott Biscayne Bay on the last week of September 2024 for a work conference.

Check in/Out: This was seamless. Check in took only a couple minutes, and we were provided with information about the property, key cards, and reusable water bottles (They had many refills spots around the hotel, and it was a cool little feature),

Hotel: I would consider this a fairly good mid grade hotel. There definitely more expensive/premium options and there are for sure cheaper ones too. The hotel itself has been recently updated and it shows well. The staff were friendly and attentive when we needed something. The A/C was always cool and you could feel it walking in after being outside which was great. The pool and patio were closed during our stay for renovations, and we were told we could use the neighbouring pool.

Room: Our room, like the hotel was recently updated, and featured a modern look, and was good enough for our trip, the bathroom came with everything we needed, and the cleaning staff were always on point. The coffee pod machine (Keurig? in our room was broken and leaked, and was replaced the next day, but we found we did not get any coffee pods restocked) and had to ask.

Location: For this trip the location great as we were waterfront, and a short walk to parks, and some shopping (AKA window shopping the Ferrari dealership). We did walk to Wynwood and Miami Design district as they were only 30-45 minute walks, and when we didn't want to, Uber was a short and affordable ride especially to South Beach.

Restaurant: We were given a daily credit during our stay for their restaurant, which we did twice, both for dinners. Food was good but the service on both our stays were slow, I think at one point we waited close to an hour for our meal, and the place was not very busy. Their restaurant was updated, it looked good, and featured an outdoor patio as well. The hotel also had a small shop for souvenirs, food and had Starbucks coffee.

Also, this resort connects with another hotel, "Double Tree by Hilton" via a small shopping centre which featured a few restaurants, deli, some clothing shops and an actual Starbucks which we used daily.

Room tip: Try to get a higher floor for rooms, we had the lowest floor and it overlooked outdoor patio/pool area.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cellular93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear cellular93,

Thank you for choosing the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay for your business needs. We are delighted to know that our location, with several restaurants and shopping choices nearby, was perfect for everything you wanted to do on this trip, and that you found our check-in service prompt and seamless.

It is also a pleasure to know that our beautiful property and amenities were to your liking and that our housekeeping team provided you with immaculate accommodations, which helped enhance your time with us. Your kind words will be shared with the entire team.

While we appreciate you mentioning that you found our associates to be polite, helpful, and courteous, we are very sorry you experienced a delay in service at our restaurant. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you again for your patience.

Thank you for making us your preferred choice on every visit, and we hope to see you soon.

Maria Scafuro,
Senior Rooms Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews