We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service”

Michael's Genuine Food & Drink
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Genuine Food & Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 4,538 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 1st Avenue & N.E. 2nd Avenue
Transit: Miami Dade Transit Bus Lines # 2, # 3,# 9, # 10, # 36, # 93, # 202, # 236. For detailed route information go to: http://www.miamidade.gov/transit/library/tm_for_web.pdf
Description: Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink is a showcase for the cuisine of Chef/Owner Michael Schwartz, with prices designed to encourage frequent dining. This unpretentious bistro seats 90 indoors and out, with another 14 seats at a handsome bar. Doubling as a casual neighborhood dining spot and a culinary destination, the bright, airy space in Miami’s evolving Design District showcases Schwartz’s trademark new American cuisine at prices designed to encourage frequent dining. Open daily for lunch and dinner, the menu is chock full of choices encouraging everything from a light bite to a multi-course feast. A quick glance at the menu and Michael's intentions for this restaurant are revealed. Notable is the frequency of the word homemade in the descriptions of dishes -- be it pasta, French fries or rabbit terrine. At the same time, Michael's takes advantage of the Chef’s decades-long relationships with winemakers to offer diners the opportunity to try a variety of wines at great value.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Food is good , price is good but service needs to improve. Asked for a hamburger with no tomato and lettuce and they put on it. The hostes is not very friendly also.

Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, General Manager at Michael's Genuine Food & Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Fernando,
Thank you very much for writing and for visiting us. We sincerely apologize that your experience was disappointing. We aim to please our guests with genuine hospitality and excellent food and service. We dropped the ball on your visit and very much appreciate your feedback. I would love to hear from you to say sorry and welcome you back. Please send me a note so we can connect - nicole@michaelsgenuine.com
Kindly,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We had a great time. The service was amazing. The server was very kind, attentive and always smiling. The food was ok, good but not unforgettable. Nice cozy environment.

Thank paulG7378MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole K, General Manager at Michael's Genuine Food & Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us, Paul. Thanks for coming and thanks for writing. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We had some great inventive cocktails with large square ice cubes in one and a spring of rosemary in another. We sat at the bar by the oyster chef who was very friendly. Cute staff and Bartender was fun with astropop shirt. The fried pig ears were good. Olives great. East and west coast oysters great. Very good. Thanks for taking our picture!

Thank daniellepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina T, Manager at Michael's Genuine Food & Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Hello Danielle,
Thank you for your review and for joining us at the bar. Please come back soon,our happy hours are M-F from 4:30 to 7:30pm.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Alina T
Restaurant Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We had Sunday brunch. The food we ordered was tapas/small plates style, so we ordered several different things. There were three of us, two who are picky eaters, yet we all enjoyed every dish. The monkey bread, house made bacon, french toast - yum! I have a hunch that anything you order here will be very tasty. They have outside seating, and Miami valet parking right there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina T, Manager at Michael's Genuine Food & Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you Diana for your review. We all hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely
Alina T
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

IT is My best eatingexperience in Miami.
Service couldn’t be better.Also our ribeye was to die for.
This is how a restaurant must be runned.

Thank bernardverheecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina T, Manager at Michael's Genuine Food & Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review and high rating, Bernard. We all look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Alina T
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Genuine Food & Drink also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Genuine Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing