We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Backyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Backyard
House front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Backyard
House front
House back
Firepit
Deck
View of the beach from backyard
Torbay beach...a 2 minute walk
Tree garden
Garden view
Kitchen
Kitchen looking out to the Bathroom
Kitchen
Laundry room
Porch
Living Room
Living room
Lower Bathroom
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The mini 3rd bedroom upstairs
Upper Bathroom
Heritage Designation
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos int he area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
Single bed
ECT hiking
Single roll out bed in loft area
Main floor area
Cabot Tower
Cape Spear
Petty Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Torbay, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christian...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Paul's lovely cottage offers spectacular views just a short walk from the shoreline. The house is nicely decorated, well equipped with everything you need and has a nice outlook facing the ocean with a fire pit. The loction is also great, as there is a convenience store, drug store and gas station nearby, shopping area just a 10 minutes drive away, fresh fish and produce is sold almost every day around the corner from a truck., The trip to St. John's just takes 15 minutes, We had a great walk along the coastal trail from Flat Rock back to the cottage. We even met members of the owner's family, everyone caring and very nice.

Great location, great cottage, great people!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
So glad you enjoyed our cottage! Take care. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“God's amazing creation!!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely fell in love with every aspect of this place! Within minutes of arriving we saw whales in the ocean outside the window! It was such a relaxing, therapeutic and perfect place to enjoy God's amazing creation within minutes from St. John's! Thank you so much for opening your home for us to experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you Julie for the kind words. So glad you loved our cottage. : ) Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Newfoundland traditional home on the Ocean”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Torbay at the house. The owner takes pride in the property. Everything is clean and in order. The kitchen is also well equipped.
We debated staying in St John's but we're so happy we decided on this cozy Torbay property. The view is spectacular and the nearby hiking trails are amazing.

We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thanks Michael. So glad you both had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to explore the Avalon peninsula from.”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 10 glorious days in this little cottage. Central to all things to see and do in St |Johns. Our hosts were wonderful and we were lucky enough to meet the family and share a few laughs. Will be recommending this rental to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely holiday Diane and Bill Hodge Belleville Ontario

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Splendid views from deck of cottage
Liked least: ceilings are low for anyone over 6 ft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
It was great to meet the 2 of you. So glad you had a wonderful trip. Take care and maybe we will see you again! : ) Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannine...
Welland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights at Historic Codner house in Torbay, Nl. The cottage is quaint yet has all the modern amenities . It is well equipped, clean, and spacious and close to shopping and its just a quick trip to St. Johns. We were four adults and we had plenty of room! The beds are soooo comfy and the showers were always hot . The views from the deck and yard are beautiful. If you are there during the July 1 holiday...make sure you stay here! The view of the fireworks sitting at the firepit (from the bay below the cottage) are amazing. Thank you again Paul and Nancy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thanks Jeannine! So glad you liked your stay and the added bonus of the fireworks!! : ) Take care. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$116
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing