We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing spot and view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Tree garden
backyard
Deck
Heritage Designation
View of the beach from backyard
Torbay beach...a 2 minute walk
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main floor area
Queen bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The mini 3rd bed - loft
The mini 3rd bed room - loft
Kitchen looking out to the Bathroom
Laundry room
Porch
Lower Bathroom
Upper Bathroom
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT hiking
Cabot Tower
Cape Spear
Petty Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Torbay, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deb and B...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing spot and view”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I highly recommend the Torbay area and house. This is located within minutes to Costco, Walmart, grocery and other retail locations and with 20 mins to downtown St. John's. This vacation home has everything you could ever ask for and we stayed in for supper and breakfast daily due to the amenities.
Paul is amazing to deal with and we could not have asked for anything more than what was provided. The house was clean and stocked with available resources and views beyond description. I cannot say enough about our vacation and wish we could have extended our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the house and the location
Liked least: It needs new non-stick frypans
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thanks Deb..so glad you guys enjoyed our beautiful cottage! That's my goal. :) Come back sometime! Take care. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emgi45
Dieppe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This comfortable upgraded historic home is situated in a quiet area with a great view of the bay. We were very pleased with its' location since it is close to St Johns and all that the City offers, yet while at the home you feel you are a world away.
During our stay there were two icebergs visible in the bay.
From our first communication with the owners Paul and Nancy, we felt we had made the right decision in renting their home. They were very helpful in providing us with information by e-mail and stayed in touch with us as we travelled from the West coast of Nlfd to their home on the East coast.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your visit and our cottage. The caplin rolled in on the beach the day after you left! Hopefully you will be back again in the future. All the best. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sroandjah
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop looking. This is it!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little cottage is absolutely perfect. It is perfectly situated for the view out to the harbor, down a quiet street, yet so convenient to everything to see in the area. The Owners have thought of everything and the place is superbly appointed, and very cozy. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, view
Liked least: Nothing. Seriously.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you. I hope you had a great visit to Newfoundland and hopefully you will be back! : ) Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryChats...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Choosing this gorgeous historic cottage in Torbay was a no-brainer for 8 days in Newfoundland after looking at our options in St. John's, and we feel so lucky it was available for our trip. We traveled at the same time as several friends to listen to a series of concerts within an hour or two's drive of St. John's, and we were the envy of the group (all of whom booked in the city) when they heard we had a place to ourselves and a beautiful water view! Not to mention that there was an iceberg waiting in the bay when we arrived... a fantastic consolation prize because so many museums and attractions don't really open until June.

Everything is so near each other in this part of Newfoundland and Labrador, the few minutes out to Torbay from St. John's is nothing, and it's so quick from the airport and major routes to other towns. When we got back from a day trip, we'd often stroll down to Torbay Beach at the end of the street, just a few houses away - it amazed me that no matter how many accessible shorelines we saw, I still loved Torbay Beach the best, with Middle Beach immediately south of it a close second. Actually, we found the shoreline all along the east coast to be exceptional and were glad to be able to revisit parts of it at the end of our other journeys because they were so close to where we were staying. We even saw a moose on the Torbay Road, casually leaping down a residential stone wall onto somebody's front lawn. We wouldn't have seen that in St. John's! On our last evening, we decided on an impulse to go into the city to meet a friend for the dinner special at Rocket Bakery (cottage pie - bliss) and it took us 20 minutes from looking for our shoes to locking the car at our parking spot in front of the restaurant.

In terms of amenities, the the house has everything you need: laundry facilities, a kitchen with dishwasher and microwave, not one but two tables for dining or just setting out the day's gear, a very comfortable sofa and armchair and a TV with plenty of channels, and two cosy bedrooms upstairs. Both bathrooms have a shower, and there were plenty of towels and extra pillows in a cupboard upstairs... we could easily have come with a larger group and had everyone sleep comfortably, as I know others have done. Best of all, the window overlooking the water on the second floor is in an open area with an armchair placed conveniently opposite and a pair of binoculars handy. We didn't use the BBQ or picnic bench as we were treating ourselves to a lot of dinners out, but we did sit on the bench by the fire bowl at the bottom of the back garden to admire the stars one night when it was particularly clear.

If I get to go back to Newfoundland, I will definitely plan my trip around the availability of this lovely, peaceful cottage regardless of the season. We grew so attached to it in the time we were there that the one night we were supposed to stay at a B&B 90 minutes away, we decided after checking in and having supper that we really just wanted to wake up by the sea... and drove back again that night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review. I am really happy that you had a fantastic stay and you loved our cottage. :) Paul and Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2014
Thanks for the great review. My response to last review was actually for you. Glad all was perfect for you guys. Like I said before, makes all the hard worth it when you know people are leaving just loving the house, location and Newfoundland. Hope to see you again down the road!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing