We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
25
10
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
10
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt calypso cay resort rock climbing mini golf great property common areas resort fee up to date pool bar water slides great place to stay would stay here again free breakfast disney world properties tiki playground
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We spent 5 nights here during our Disney World trip. The pools are nice, and the breakfasts are really good, but the staff was unfriendly and the customer service was just bad. One morning after breakfast, we were unable to get back into our room because the electronic door was broken (likely out of batteries). So we stood around for 30 minutes waiting while they looked for a physical key. We were planning to get to Animal Kingdom early that day to try to get in the line for the Avatar ride, but that didn't happen. They never even apologized for the inconvenience. Over the 5 days, we ran across several ladies at the front desk, but none of them were ever kind or ever gave us a single smile.

We didn't have the linens we needed for the sofabed, and we didn't have enough towels for everyone in the room, so we had to call the front desk to get them. They only provided the extra towels if we asked - every other day, we still didn't have enough towels. On a few occasions, we tried to get extra towels from the maids in the hall, only to find out that none of them spoke English. Their response to "could we have more towels" would be "no habla ingles". We tried speaking to 3 separate maids over our stay, and never found one who spoke English.

On the first day, we got back to the room at 6 pm only to find that they hadn't cleaned our room. We had to ask the front desk to send someone to clean it (she was rather rude about it) and we also asked for more towels at that point, so they gave us extra bath towels but didn't replace any of the wash cloths or hand towels. The sloppy housekeeping really made the stay unpleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are subject to screaming kids every night.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savannahbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites S Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear SavannahBeach,

I wanted to take a moment and truly apologize for your experience. I am just dumbstruck that you didn't receive the care and concern that you would come to expect from our hotel. I want you to know that I take these concerns very seriously and only wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you directly to correct them. It is completely atypical for our property to not smile, or offer assistance or resolution when our guests encounter a challenge. To be honest, I am just in utter disbelief that you didn't receive even one smile or 1 kind word nor an apology!

I have also addressed your housekeeping issues with the department manager and we are committed to improving our ways so that others are not disappointed as you were. Please know that I appreciate your very honest and frank feedback because without it, I cannot remedy the issues.

Thank you and again, our apologies.

Janine Fravel, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

My husband had planned a last minute get away over the labor day weekend our 1st stop was here. We had reservations for Sunday at another Holiday Inn(wish we would of stayed here) when we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff, our room was nice and fresh, the activities for the kids were amazing and they loved the pool. We had 1 problem while there and it was handled immediately if though manager wasn't on sight or in town at that time they still took great care of the issue. We will absolutely be returning. Great place!!!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Loripark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites S Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Loripark,

Thanks for your great review! It sounds like you had a fun weekend planned and we were a main contributor to that fun--so yay for you and yay for us! Our staff's friendly, pleasant and accommodating disposition coupled with the amenities is giving us quite the positive reputation around town and we love to prove it to be true!
We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Orlando S Lake Buena Vista!

Sincerely,

Janine Fravel, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

A very quiet area. We slept well for the two days we were at the hotel. The breakfast was a blast. My wife and I have been to many hotels over the years but never came across the breakfast choices at this place. It was excellent.
The only snag was our room safe kept showing E-code but was working well before we went out for the day. It was later opened by one of the hotel employees.
Overall, an excellent stay and will definitely be back when in the area.
Please keep up the standard and the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites S Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear lightzoom,

I've been in hospitality for about 15 years now and it never fails to make me smile and feel really happy to read "keep up the standard and the good work." We work hard for our guests and just knowing that you had such a great time and we made a positive impression--well, it just solidifies our efforts and our faith in our work!
We really hope you will be back to see us soon and we'll be sure to get those safes 100% functional for your next stay! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We spent 5 nights at this property and felt like we were at a mini resort! The pool and garden areas were beautiful and very well groomed. It was a pleasure to meander through the concise property and enjoy the vegetation and pool areas. There were quiet places for adults to relax and fun pool areas for children and our mature family to enjoy. Since we spent most of our time at the various parks, we weren't able to spend a lot of time using the outdoor grills, the mini golf and the adventure park (thoroughly enjoyed by our 17 and 20 year olds!), Even the adults (under 250 pounds!) were enjoying the adventure park ... great to see people laughing! The daily breakfast was enjoyable and you could eat outside by the pool area or inside. Staff did their best to make it as interesting as possible. You never left hungry! Even apples were wrapped in plastic wrap for a quick snack! The rooms were clean and freshly decorated. You always saw staff making improvements to the facility. The greatest surprise was the staff! They all were extremely friendly and helpful. You felt like you were visiting THEIR home .... they seemed to be very engaged in their work! From the front desk, to the breakfast host/hostesses, to the cleaners and adventure staff, all were amazing! We had a fantastic visit!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FarAway289920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites S Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear FarAway289920,

It is a few minutes before our staff meeting and I am about bouncing in my chair with this really lovely, generous, and thorough review! It makes me so happy to know that you had a terrific experience, and especially with your family--and we helped! We strive daily in every aspect we offer to make your stay memorable in the best of ways and we always will.
Please come back to visit soon to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Orlando S Lake Buena Vista--our home away from home is your home away from home! Thank you!

Sincerely,

Janine Fravel GSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were greeted with a smiling face. The hotel property is gorgeous. Lots to do, you don’t have to leave and will never get bored! 3 pools, mini golf, rock climbing, zipline and a pool bar. The breakfast in the morning was great. The food was being replenished constantly. The rooms were great. The beds. Comfy. We will stay here again for sure. My only wish is we knew of this resort sooner!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGSM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites S Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi Melanie!

I just read your review out loud to some colleagues and we all agreed that that is the greatest gift we can ever receive--such genuine and positive and exciting feedback from our guests. We work hard to make sure your vacation needs are met and your review shows we did just that!
We really hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Orlando S Lake Buena Vista--we can't wait to have you back!

Sincerely,

Janine Fravel, GSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews