We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view great service”
Review of Turtle Kraals

Turtle Kraals
Ranked #109 of 471 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Key West Seafood and Sunset Restaurant, along the Waterfront. With Turtle Races every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 7pm, the only cevicheria in Key West and a Cuban/Caribbean/Family-inspired menu with many items to share, Turtle Kraals exudes Key West charm. Enjoy the indoor 360-degree bar or catch a spectacular sunset from our infamous Tower Bar, overlooking Historic Key West Bight. Had a great day fishing? We'll cook your catch (fillets only please) for you! In the mood for a fun activity? Try your hand at our complimentary bocce courts.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Chris was very attentive and made on the mark recommendations for our lunch at the Rooftop Bar. Spectacular view of the harbor and surrounding boats, conch chowder was spicy and delicious.

Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write your five-star review. We really appreciate it! We hope to see you next time you visit Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

had the lobster tail with stuffed crab meat.was awsome.in front of the piers with a nice view.very relaxing. Restaurant also has a bar.

Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We're pleased to see that you enjoyed everything. We hope that you'll keep us in mind for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We used to enjoy this place years ago but it has really gone down hill. We went for drinks and appetizers. Got the special crab claws and conch chowder. Not good at all and the crab was $40! Seriously!! Never again.

1  Thank Renea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Unfortunately stone crab season was very difficult for the fishermen due to Hurricane Irma. This led to stone crab prices being through the roof. We tried to keep our prices competitive with other restaurants and many were charging $60 by the end of season. Some find it worth it, others don't. Either way, there are plenty of great options on our menu with great prices. Check us out again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I've been here pretty much every time I've been to Key West. I always order the same thing. The Cuban sandwich. It has always been great. This time it was terrible. The day started by being greeted by our rude waiter. The Cuban was described on the menu as smoked ham, slow roasted mojo pork, pickles, Swiss on pressed Cuban bread. It came with the cheapest plans sandwich meat you could ever find. The ham was not smoked and the pork was definitely not slow roasted. Here's the kicker. There was also 2 slices of salami on it. Needless to say, the sandwich was inedible. We told the waiter but he could have cared less. That will be my last time going there and I would suggest everyone else does the same. There are plenty of better places to eat on the keys

3  Thank ScottS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry that you had such a poor experience with us. Many locals get our Cuban sandwich every time that they visit us. I am sorry that the salami was missing from the menu but I will make sure it is included in the reprint. Most Cuban sandwiches include salami, including Key West's "original" Cuban at Sandy's Cafe. We're sorry if that is not to your liking but we have always included it on our sandwich. It's a shame to see one experience ruin all of the great experiences you've had before this one so we urge you to give us another chance next time you're in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

At the bar - Tommy served us - awesome service. Ordered appetizers - took a little while and when pretzel bites were not right, immediate response and took care to replace with awesome food. Top notch service and food. Go for the turtle races too M-F - FREE and lots of fun.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurawX5656CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad to see the shoutout for Tommy as he's our newest bartender and it seems that he took great care of you. Swing back in soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Kraals also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Kraals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing