We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was Excellent”
Review of Half Shell Raw Bar

Half Shell Raw Bar
Ranked #103 of 468 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Taste of Old Key West! Traditional Key West Raw Bar & great Key West seafood restaurant! Oysters, clams, shrimp, more! A low key restaurant for casual lunch or dinner. Settle down to an informal atmosphere, local characters, great bar and waterfront dining. It's a little piece of Old Key West on the historic Key West Bight.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We went to this restaurant because the manager also works at the hotel we were staying at and the food and service was fantastic. It was so good that we went back a second time and both times the food was great! We had a different server and both of them were great and friendly and provided great service even though they were very busy. We ate at several places while in Key West and this was the best seafood we had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaptMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We appreciate your review thanks for taking the time to write one...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

It's one of Key West's great dive bars. Located on the waterfront, it's packed for happy hour from 4:30 to 6:30 weekdays. They offer 2 for 1 drinks or 50 percent off well drinks, house wines and beers and a special happy hour menu.
We tried the Calamari Rings and Conch Fritters ($5.50 each) and the Buffalo Shrimp ($6.00) and I got a half dozen raw oysters at $5.50.
During our stay in Key West we tried several happy hours using a guide found in the local weekly newspaper.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BeachguyWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks for your visit and enjoying our Happy Hour we think we have one of the best Happy Hours in Key West...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Bit disappointed to be honest, after reading the reviews. Found the service to be okay but not particularly attentive, there was a family group near us who took all the attention of the servers and we seemed to get a bit forgotten. Food was quite average, had better seafood in other places in Key West. Price was good but atmosphere a bit flat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Sorry about your experience a very large percentage of our customers like our service and food....Sometimes when a customer feels the way that you did everything goes down hill from the first disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to visit based on previous reviews. The reviews weren't wrong. We were seated right on the water. The view allowed for great views of the water and boats docked nearby. We each order a dozen oysters on the half shell. They were very clean, and tasted great. The waitress was very helpful and eager to serve us. Everyone that we encountered here were very accommodating.

1  Thank Codeman191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thanks for visiting with us and taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on serving only Gulf Oysters and 80% of the time they are fro Ceder Key Florida..so are our clams...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We sat in restaurant this time and glad we did. Trish aka Patricija was our waitress and was so impressed! We are accustomed to not receiving good service in Key West and was pleasantly surprised with Trish. It was happy hour and crazy busy .... she went over and above the call of duty and ensured we got our food and drinks expeditiously, having only minutes to spare before happy hour expired. SHE HAS A NEW FAN,... Of course, oysters and clams were awesome!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChristiWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for the review and the kind words on Trish..Our servers and staff are a big part of the Half Shell and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Shell Raw Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Half Shell Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing