We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
133
63
24
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
63
24
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food truck cuban theme pool area tommy bahama front desk resort fee corn hole towel cards hotel decor fun hotel shuttle service post hurricane amazing pool shuttle downtown cuban food free shuttle free towels
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Havana Cabana Key West last night of our trip. We checked in around almost 3pm on Wed, Sep 12th. It seemed like early but the front desk didn’t mention that we were not eligible, so we thought everything went well. We refreshed ourselves at the late afternoon but didn’t have a chance to get into our bed. We got our King room. (which while checking in, the front desk lady asked us if we want the King room, if we didn’t want the Queen. (I mean Yea, we booked the King so why we need to switch to something else. Then, we heard the front desk lady mumbling that ' .. it’s 2:30.. most of rooms should be ready.. I don’t know.. yea it should be okay..’ However, we didn’t pay attention, since we were able to check in meaning that we were good to go.

After getting back from down town, showering, opening our comforter, we found a lot of those hair ALL OVER THE BED like seriously. This was nasty and disgusting. (Actually I did remove few of them before leaving for dinner, because I thought it was that it, but NO!)

We went to front desk around 11:30pm to change the room. Lucky us, you had some left, then we moved out.

Everything looked beautiful from the pictures, however you missed out something that is very important, cleanliness.

In the morning before checking out, WIFI didn’t work anymore. Plus, there was no hair dryer in our new room. The pool is not that clean; dusty and buggy. OMG.

On the top of above, I emailed them complaining, yet nothing is done to correct these issues even apologies.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank supaporn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricB7034, Manager at Havana Cabana at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I did receive you email regarding the issues mentioned above and you should have gotten a response. Again I would like to apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay and I will be getting with the Housekeeping manager and the rest of the Management team to correct these issues. PLease feel free to reach out to be directly at the hotel if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Only if you are going to stay more than one day is that you are going to use the services the extra money you are paying. Air conditioning not working, toilet not working, dirty bathroom. Very unfriendly man at front desk, just arriving and wanted to go... I know it may be common in the USA, but it’s the first time I have to pay for my breakfast at a hotel with that tag price.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricB7034, Manager at Havana Cabana at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take all reviews seriously so that we can better serve our Guests. I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations, I will be reviewing your comments with the rest of the Management team in hopes to better serve our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Super amazing top quality !!! Clean Ofcourse something that’s always important to me staff very very friendly and price ALOT LESS than down town duval...we’re 4 hrs away from Miami I stoped coming to key west because the cost of hotels from $300-450 a night! Here we are in the beginning of key west with shuttle van that will take you from hotel to key west every hour! I can not express how amazing and satisfied we are with this hotel ! A MUST! A+++++ across the board!! The only thing is that I wished I would had seen this place earlier I would not have waited all these years to come to key west

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carlor302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricB7034, Manager at Havana Cabana at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for the Great Review! We are so Happy that you had an Amazing stay with us and enjoyed the Hotel staff and amenities. We hope to see you back again for another Amazing Stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This hotel is beautiful and I was very excited to stay here. The website is beautiful and I had heard it was very kid friendly. Lobby is colorful with beautiful furniture and it leads out to this huge pool. I didn't know it was the biggest in Key West, so that was a nice thing to find out.
My family of 4 (2 toddlers) and I booked it through Trip advisor for one night during Labor Day weekend. Our room wasn't ready so we left the hotel and decided to come back at a later time.
Finally we come back a little before 4PM and I walk up to the front desk. One gentleman was on the phone and the other seemed to be doing something else. I walked up to the gentleman that was not on the phone, I wasn't acknowledged and then I said, do you just want to to go to him (the other gentleman on the phone) and he proceeds to say "yeah".

The gentleman on the phone wasn't the most kid friendly person, seemed bitter and seemed to be put off by kids. We finally walk into our room that I was hoping wasn't on the main building but unfortunately it was at the building overlooking the pool. That view was nice, easy access to the pool but it still had that "motel" feel with the wall A/C. I do think the decor in the room was very modern/clean and colors matched the hotel. One of our bed frames on one bed was collapsing so I called the front desk and they had it fixed right away.

We went to the pool which was great, lounge area and bar are beautifully decorated and lots of games for families to partake. We missed Happy hour by a couple of minutes, which is 4PM-5PM. But who has happy hour for just one hour, usually Happy Hour is 3 hours. Not sure if it was because it was a Sunday. Drinks and food were delicious and moderately priced. The bar tender felt like she was being bothered by taking orders, maybe she had a rough day or had lots to do, but I felt rushed and felt my 2 questions over the drinks were annoying her.
I love that the pool is open until 11PM, having kids they never like to leave, that was a plus. The towels are VERY thin and barely dry you, I had to ask for a couple more.

The lady at checkout was very nice.

Overall I felt the staff wasn't the friendliest, at least that was our experience. Hotel is adorable but would like to stay in the main building next time.

Room tip: try to book in main building
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen11r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Havana Cabana at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take all our reviews seriously so that we can better serve our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, but apologize for not meeting certain expectation. I will be sharing your Comment with the rest of the Management team so that we can come together and make necessary changes. Thank you again, and we hope that we will see you again for an even better stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

First of all I want to thanks Annette and the rest of the staff for their courteous help and facilitating a wonderful experience.
I am a Hotel designer and travel quite a lot, this small and unique Hotel has been recently renovated and came out quite well a little jewel very affordable.
My daughter, my poodle and I had a wonderful time as we joined the adventures of the keys.
Thanks to making the simple a wonderful adventure.

Room tip: pool view quite beautiful ... but My daughter loved the bunk bed
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Architect72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Havana Cabana at Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for the great Review! We are so happy that we made you feel like Home. And it is always to see our Associates mentioned by name. We hope to see you back in Key West for another great Stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews