We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
341
203
55
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
203
55
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastduval streetbagelsresident catking suitesimonton stspa poolevery morningstay there againwithin walking distancebathroom doorsmall roomprivate balconywalked everywherethe location is perfectsitting areanight life
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We drove down to Key West on a random drive and made last minute reservations. When checking in and discussing it was my husband's birthday, Micheal helped us out. She also told us were the great entertainment was. Once in our room, it was big, nice, and perfect for the situation. If you want the Ritz, this is not for you; if you want to experience Key West and all of it's charm, this place is perfect. One block from Duval St too.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We stayed in one of the cottages, and it was perfect! So central to all the action but a block off the main strip so it was very peaceful, except for the rooster but they are everywhere. Very comfortable beds and the staff was excellent. Loved the private patio and front porch.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank wwa1397180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this place! It is a lovely property, very quiet, and centrally located it's in walking distance to everything in Key West. The staff was extremely friendly! Kenneth was so helpful in helping us correct a mistake we made when booking our room – no worries! It turned out better than we could have hoped for. This will definitely be our guest house of choice for our next visit to Key West!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Colby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We paid $350 for a night, way too expensive. The rooms were clean but small and face the street and you could hear all the traffic and people going by. They were not very accommodating, gave me a fuss about a late checkout for just one hour. Giave me a hassel about leaving my car parked an extra hour on checkout and when we left there were no cars in the parking lot. The rooms are clean but very small. It is not worth that price. You’re better off staying at a hotel. You can rent a moped and in literally 30 seconds you’re in the middle of Duvall st. Yes it is one block of Duval Street but as I said with the scooter you can be there in 30 seconds and stay at a really nice hotel. For a lot less.
.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlibax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Key West's Old Town neighborhood is indeed pricier than most other Florida destinations, and the Merlin Guest House offers some of the very lowest rates in all of the island's historic district. Saying that you'd find a stay at a "really nice hotel" on Duval Street for "a lot less" is highly doubtful. Of course, your visit did coincide with the peak of our high season when it is still freezing cold up north. If you choose to travel to Key West during off-peak dates (for example, midweek in the summer time), you will find the island much quieter and the room rates substantially lower.

It's very hard for a small Guest House with only 22 rooms to accommodate late check-out requests. If we were a larger hotel with twice as many rooms, the likelihood of us having some incoming guests arriving after official check-in time would increase, so it wouldn't be as daunting to try to let guests stay on in their rooms after check-out time. We endeavor to be as accommodating as we can, and we are always VERY happy to store guests' luggage for them in our office throughout the day for those who wish to stay on in Key West after checking out of their rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My husband I stayed here during an adult vacation (ie kid free). The hotel is small but quaint. We loved our king size deluxe room. The room was spacious with a separate living room area. The location was perfect, we walked everywhere. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Volsfanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here with us at the Merlin Guest House. If you ever do decide to come back to the island on a family vacation, may I suggest one of the cottages which are perfect for parents traveling with a couple of kids. Alternatively, we look forward to seeing you again in another spacious Deluxe King Room on your next kid-free getaway to Key West. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews