We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of History”

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Ranked #27 of 132 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We went to this fort and did a self guided tour but did meet a gentleman who was there as a recreation officer and we learned a lot about the history of the fort.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CaptMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"water shoes"
in 337 reviews
"concession stand"
in 241 reviews
"nice beach"
in 355 reviews
"rocky beach"
in 111 reviews
"picnic area"
in 91 reviews
"best beach on the island"
in 51 reviews
"chairs and umbrellas"
in 94 reviews
"civil war"
in 108 reviews
"rode our bikes"
in 56 reviews
"small fee"
in 54 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 90 reviews
"fish"
in 309 reviews
"snorkel gear"
in 78 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 92 reviews
"watch the sunset"
in 118 reviews
"interesting history"
in 55 reviews
"mallory square"
in 127 reviews
Filter

380 - 384 of 5,958 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

If you are looking for a nice beach to enjoy not too far from downtown, this is it. There is a decent amount of parking, lots of room on the beach, shady areas, picnic tables, chairs and umbrellas to rent, snack shop, restrooms and of course a beautiful beach with sandy and rocky areas. We actually walked here from Mallory Square, took about a half hour but was a lot of fun and gave us some post-breakfast exercise! Stopped at the Green Parrot on the way back for a Hendricks and Pink Lemonade. Delicious!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Renea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place. We only had a day to explore here, but we were making plans to return next year within hours of our day. We spent the entire day in the water. Swam out to the rocks. My children were thrilled to see many fish underwater. We didn’t rent snorkels but used goggles.
The manager of concessions Tom Blount is friendly and accommodating.
We will definitely be back!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank RobbieM496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Lounge chairs and umbrellas for rent at reasonable prices ($30 for 2 chairs and an umbrella). Beach is well cared for and the food shop is reasonably priced and offers good choices. Great beach to spend a day.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Dondi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

If you want to swim in Key West, this is only public beach with decent swimming. $7 for a car with 2 adults. WEAR WATER SHOES! The Reach Hotel is really the only other good place to swim.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank BanyanBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing