We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dads and Sons fun”

Top Shot Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our charter boat the "Happy Day Today" is a 46' Hatteras sport fish located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in the Bahia Mar Charter Fleet. We offer half day charters, 3/4 and all day deep sea fishing trips. The boat is fully equipped with all fishing tackle, fishing licensing, coolers, air conditioned vessel, safety equipment, dept sounder and navigational equipment. To name some of the species we target: Mahi Mahi, Black Fin Tuna, Wahoo, Sailfish, King Mackerel, Grouper, Snapper, Sharks and Swordfish. Captain Tommy Zsak has been fishing for over 30+ years as the owner and captain of the "Happy Day Today" and the Top Shot Sportfishing team. Please give us a call to discuss the charter, conditions, what is biting and availability.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a blast on Happy Day today charter with Dave and Joe.Three dads with three boys all around age 9.They were pt. with the boys and put us on fish. Bonita,Kings,Barracuda and to finish it off a 9' Hammerhead. Would recommend to anyone also family friendly,looking forward to our next rip.
Thanks,Randy and BW

Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Randy and BW for your great review on Tripadvisor. It was fun seeing the three fathers and sons enjoying their fishing trip together. What a wonderful gift for your sons on ending their sport activity year. Congratulations on all your catches especially the 9 ft. Hammerhead.

Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Boat Charter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain zsak"
in 46 reviews
"kingfish"
in 68 reviews
"tuna"
in 53 reviews
"mate dave"
in 27 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 50 reviews
"these guys"
in 50 reviews
"hammerhead shark"
in 26 reviews
"deep sea fishing"
in 32 reviews
"catch fish"
in 21 reviews
"afternoon charter"
in 6 reviews
"big catch"
in 4 reviews
"inch sailfish"
in 6 reviews
"live bait"
in 16 reviews
"beautiful sailfish"
in 4 reviews
"great fishing"
in 15 reviews
"hammer head"
in 4 reviews
"trophy fish"
in 7 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked an eight hour fishing trip for 3 generation family fishing trip. My grandsons, ages 16 & 19 love fishing and wanted to go out into the ocean to do some. We met up at the boat and it is just like its pictures. Dave & Joe asked what type of fishing we wanted to do and then we set out. There were five of us fishing so I hoped we could catch 5 fish. We caught 19! There was one time we had 3 fish on at once and Joe took care of all of us! We caught MahiMahi, barricuda and bonita. We were going to fish for shark (youngest grandson's request) but after putting the bait out for a while, the clouds with lighting was getting a little too close for us. Captain Dave offered to stay out but we didn't want to. Once we were back, they filleted the Mahi and bagged it up for us. There was ice available to chill it down. I would highly recommend this boat and crew for your fishing group of any ages and experience. They helped with the beginners and let the experienced ones catch their own.

Thank lizfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that the five family members had such a good time and caught so many fish. I'm glad we went over your quota of at least five fish :) by helping you catch 14 more!!!!

Come back soon with all your family. Stay in good health.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Short Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We are a local family and had a great time catching fish today!
Captain David and Joe made our day great!
10 King Mackerel in our four hour trip!
My 8 year old grand daughter was very welcome and Joe had her pull in a lot of the fish!
We are redy to do this again!

2  Thank paulandcathy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review on Tripadvisor. It's so good to have local people fishing with us and to spread the word locally. We live in a wonderful city with great weather and marvelous fishing grounds. After 45 years in business, it is very rewarding to continue to see our customers appreciate our service and enjoy a day of fishing with their family.

Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Boat Charter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We had such a wonderful fishing trip, our son loves to fish, so being able to pull in bonitas and Mahi Mahi made his day. And Captains Tom and David Zsak were the best ever to go out with, just like going with family. We will definitely have to come back and try this adventure again on the Happy Day Today!

2  Thank Liana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks, Liana, for such a great review on Tripadvisor. We are a three-generation family business and treat our customers like family - so happy that you noticed that. Glad that your son had a good time catching the Bonitas and Mahi Mahi's.

Come back soon and thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Went fishing with the dad and uncle. The seas were very rough, causing my dad to be sick most of the time, but that didn't stop the Captain and crew from showing us a great time. We were able to catch 5 kings and 2 bonitas. Would have had a couple more, but some gave us a fight and won. Would highly recommend.

2  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks, Daniel, for your review on Tripadvisor. I'm sure you enjoyed your fresh catch for dinner that night. Glad you had a "great time" fishing with your family. Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Shot Sportfishing also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Top Shot Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing