We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough Seas, but great time fishing”

Top Shot Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our charter boat the "Happy Day Today" is a 46' Hatteras sport fish located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in the Bahia Mar Charter Fleet. We offer half day charters, 3/4 and all day deep sea fishing trips. The boat is fully equipped with all fishing tackle, fishing licensing, coolers, air conditioned vessel, safety equipment, dept sounder and navigational equipment. To name some of the species we target: Mahi Mahi, Black Fin Tuna, Wahoo, Sailfish, King Mackerel, Grouper, Snapper, Sharks and Swordfish. Captain Tommy Zsak has been fishing for over 30+ years as the owner and captain of the "Happy Day Today" and the Top Shot Sportfishing team. Please give us a call to discuss the charter, conditions, what is biting and availability.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Went fishing with the dad and uncle. The seas were very rough, causing my dad to be sick most of the time, but that didn't stop the Captain and crew from showing us a great time. We were able to catch 5 kings and 2 bonitas. Would have had a couple more, but some gave us a fight and won. Would highly recommend.

2  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks, Daniel, for your review on Tripadvisor. I'm sure you enjoyed your fresh catch for dinner that night. Glad you had a "great time" fishing with your family. Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain zsak"
in 46 reviews
"kingfish"
in 68 reviews
"tuna"
in 53 reviews
"mate dave"
in 27 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 50 reviews
"these guys"
in 50 reviews
"hammerhead shark"
in 26 reviews
"deep sea fishing"
in 32 reviews
"catch fish"
in 21 reviews
"afternoon charter"
in 6 reviews
"inch sailfish"
in 6 reviews
"big catch"
in 4 reviews
"live bait"
in 16 reviews
"beautiful sailfish"
in 4 reviews
"great fishing"
in 15 reviews
"hammer head"
in 4 reviews
"trophy fish"
in 7 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018

The water was very rough, but the fishing was great. We took our son and daughter in law, who had never been deep sea fishing before on this full day trip, and they had the time of their lives and caught lots of fish. We caught a small barracuda, a king mackerel, a mahi mahi, bonitas and several very nice tunas. We also saw some flying fish and a small hammer head shark. David & Richard were a fantastic crew, very professional and I would recommend this boat to anyone that wants an unforgettable day of fishing. Thanks again guys for the great trip.

2  Thank tborn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thanks, Terry, for your great review on Tripadvisor - it was an awesome sight to see the Tunas come flying out of the water to eat the live bait from the kite. It is so gratifying for us to know that our customers see the hard work we put into making sure our customers have a good time. I am truly pleased that you had an "unforgettable day of fishing".

Come back soon and thanks again.

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We were on a shared charter with another couple and a solo angler and enjoyed meeting our new friends, Capt Zsak, and First Mate Joe. Three of us had never been deep sea fishing before but the crew showed us the ropes and we all had a great time. We each caught at least 2 fish apiece, including 3 tuna, several mackerels, and a good-sized barracuda, which we were happy to get off the line and return to the deep! We'll be back for another adventure on the Happy Day Today on our next visit to Fort Lauderdale.

Thank 190Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hi Chuck, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Glad you all had a great time and enjoyed the crew showing you the ropes. That was a big tuna you got. See you on the next adventure with us.
Thanks Capt. Zsak and crew on the Topshotfishing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We had a wonderful time. We caught about 8 fish, I caught a 25 pound Tuna, the biggest fish I have ever caught. The crew was very nice and helpful. We will be going back soon. We had the fish for dinner that night, and it just melted in your mouth.. nothing better.. Great day..

1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Kate, Thanks for your review on trip advisor you posted. You did a great job bring that large Tuna in. With all of the rest of your fish. I know you enjoyed that fresh Tuna for dinner. Stay in good health and see you on your next fishing trip.
Topshotfishing Team
Thanks Capt. Zsak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We had an amazing afternoon. Everyone caught something, a couple of Mahi Mahi, King Mackerels, some Bonitas and I caught my first Sail Fish! The crew was great! They made sure we had a good time and caught fish! Alex didn't sit down the entire trip, constantly checking the lines and helping us bring in every fish. He was both courteous and professional. The boat was in great shape, clean with plenty of seating inside and out. I would definitely recommend Top Shot to anyone looking to catch fish or just have a good time out on the ocean!!

Thank jgregg9847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks, Jack, for your great review on Tripadvisor. I'm glad you and your family had a great time on your fishing charter. Congratulations on all your catches (Mahi Mahi, Kingfish, Bonitos) but especially on your Sailfish - not an easy feat!!!!

Thanks for noticing how hard our crew works in making sure you and your family have a good time and experience, and for observing the great condition and comfort of our 46 ft. Hatteras.

Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Shot Sportfishing also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Top Shot Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing