We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Fishing with Family”

Top Shot Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our charter boat the "Happy Day Today" is a 46' Hatteras sport fish located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in the Bahia Mar Charter Fleet. We offer half day charters, 3/4 and all day deep sea fishing trips. The boat is fully equipped with all fishing tackle, fishing licensing, coolers, air conditioned vessel, safety equipment, dept sounder and navigational equipment. To name some of the species we target: Mahi Mahi, Black Fin Tuna, Wahoo, Sailfish, King Mackerel, Grouper, Snapper, Sharks and Swordfish. Captain Tommy Zsak has been fishing for over 30+ years as the owner and captain of the "Happy Day Today" and the Top Shot Sportfishing team. Please give us a call to discuss the charter, conditions, what is biting and availability.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We had an amazing afternoon. Everyone caught something, a couple of Mahi Mahi, King Mackerels, some Bonitas and I caught my first Sail Fish! The crew was great! They made sure we had a good time and caught fish! Alex didn't sit down the entire trip, constantly checking the lines and helping us bring in every fish. He was both courteous and professional. The boat was in great shape, clean with plenty of seating inside and out. I would definitely recommend Top Shot to anyone looking to catch fish or just have a good time out on the ocean!!

Thank jgregg9847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks, Jack, for your great review on Tripadvisor. I'm glad you and your family had a great time on your fishing charter. Congratulations on all your catches (Mahi Mahi, Kingfish, Bonitos) but especially on your Sailfish - not an easy feat!!!!

Thanks for noticing how hard our crew works in making sure you and your family have a good time and experience, and for observing the great condition and comfort of our 46 ft. Hatteras.

Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain zsak"
in 46 reviews
"kingfish"
in 68 reviews
"tuna"
in 53 reviews
"mate dave"
in 27 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 50 reviews
"these guys"
in 50 reviews
"hammerhead shark"
in 26 reviews
"deep sea fishing"
in 32 reviews
"catch fish"
in 21 reviews
"afternoon charter"
in 6 reviews
"inch sailfish"
in 6 reviews
"big catch"
in 4 reviews
"live bait"
in 16 reviews
"beautiful sailfish"
in 4 reviews
"great fishing"
in 15 reviews
"hammer head"
in 4 reviews
"trophy fish"
in 7 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018

Two of my buddies came in from South Carolina and we took this trip with a few guys from work. This was a great experience. We caught about an eight foot hammerhead shark. Awesome!

Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks, Chad, for your review on Tripadvisor. Glad that you and your friends had an awesome time with use fishing. Good job on catching the 8 ft. Hammerhead Shark. Nice going on the rest of your catches - a Mahi Mahi, Kingfish and half of a Tuna :).

Come back soon.

Thanks again,

Captain Zsak
Top Shot Sportfishing Charter Boat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Myself and 4 friends went down to Florida for my bachelor party. We researched and booked a fishing trip with Captain Zsak aboard his charter "Happy Day Today" and it was an awesome time. Captain Zsak speaks with you 1 on 1 and was a great guy to talk with from the start. From all the charters I looked into he was the most helpful in explaining the trip and what to expect. I have gone on a fishing charter in Fort Lauderdale before and was not happy with my past experience so I was hesitant on giving it another try. But after our experience with Top Shot Sportfishing we are pumped up and can't wait to go back with Captain Zsak and his crew Mark and Alex. Our group landed 1 Bonita, 1 King Fish, 2 Nice Silk Sharks, and the highlight of the trip! A 9' Hammer Head Shark!!! Everyone in our group worked as a team fighting the 9' monster and landed it after an hour fight! Mark and Alex were a very experienced crew and worked hard to make sure our group had a great fishing experience. Thank you again Top Shot Sportsfishing for an awesome trip. We can't wait to come back.

Thank Joshua_Kupris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you Joshua for your review on TripAdvisor. Glad all worked out for the bachelor party. That was a good fishing trip you had. Good action, good fun. Nice going on your 9 foot shark.
Thanks Capt. Zsak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

My wife, 8 year old son, and I recently took a 6 hour trip with Topshot. Had a blast! We were fortunate enough to catch a lot of fish, even though that was not the criteria on which I was judging the trip (it’s called fishing, not catching!).

Here’s the highlights:

*First, the fish: we caught about 5 king mackerel, 5 Bonito, 1 large barracuda, and 1 hammerhead shark! One of the Bonito we caught was a true Atlantic Bonito, which the Captain explained to us was better eating than the others (less oily).
*Our trip was scheduled from 6:30 to 12:30. We arrived on time and Richard and Alex were there waiting and ready to go. We left almost immediately!
*The boat (Happy Day Today) was clean and plenty spacious.
*While Richard drove the boat, Alex worked to prepare the lines and bait, and set everything up so all we had to do was wait until a fish was on the line.
*Both guys - who worked very hard so we had fun - were obviously very knowledgeable and experienced. We asked a ton of questions and they were both very happy to answer any and all of them.
*Both guys were really encouraging and made us feel comfortable. None of us are expert fisherman. My family had done charter fishing a couple times before but that’s the extent of our deep sea fishing experience. We didn’t get a single feeling of frustration on their part that we were noobs. They were really happy to help and each time a fish was on they were excited for us to get to catch it.
*Alex and Richard both demonstrated a respect for the environment and the fish we were catching. For example, only the fish that were going to be used for bait or for eating were kept. The others, including the shark, were released to fight another day.
*This is a big one....both were super cool to my 8 year old son. They wanted him to have a great time and build some awesome memories, and he did. We made sure he got more than his fair share reeling in the fish and the crew were really in to helping him out and making him feel part of the fun.

Honestly, we were well aware that we weren’t really the ones “catching” the fish. If not for the expertise of the crew setting the lines and watching for the slightest bite we understand we probably wouldn’t have caught anything at all. Richard and Alex made sure that we weren’t thinking about that part during our trip. As soon as a fish was on they enthusiastically passed the rod to whoever was next and encouraged us as we brought him home. What could be bad?

Alex filleted one of our good eating fish (again, expertly) and we took it to Coconuts that night for grilling. It was GOOD! Much like our trip.

Thanks from the McAtee’s!!

1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Jennifer, Your 8 year old son had a blast, with awesome memories. He really enjoyed the trip and the shark. Glad you can see how hard the crew works for you. Stay in good health and thanks for the review on Trip Advisor.
Thanks Capt. Zsak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

April 12, 2018. My wife & I went out with Capt.David and Deck Boss Mark. In no time at all they had me hauling in my 1st sailfish of my life!! Throughout the rest of the 6hr. charter we caught several kingfish and bonita. I've been on many charters and can testify that these guys worked non-stop to put fish in the boat. Professional, safe and gentlemen at all times best describes the way they do business. The next time we're in Ft.Lauderdale they will be the charter we want. These guys know how to catch fish! Sincerely, Jim&Madeleine Sharkey

Thank JimandMads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi Jim , Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It makes the crew very happy to know that the customers see how hard they work . nd you being on many charters can testify to this. have a safe trip back home and see you on your next time back to Fort Lauderdale.
Thanks Topshotfishing Team
Capt. Zsak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Shot Sportfishing also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Top Shot Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing