We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$515
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$756
US$733
StRegis.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bal Harbour Quarzo(Bal Harbour)
US$301
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel Bay Harbor(Bay Harbor Islands)
US$172
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Daddy O Hotel(Bay Harbor Islands)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$237
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$296
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TRYP by Wyndham Miami Bay Harbor(Bay Harbor Islands)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
141
213
102
40
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
213
102
40
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachbal harbour areast regisdirect access to the beachlounge chairsolder hotelbeautiful lobbypool barparking feepool staffgreat poolthe ritzbalconymiamilauderdalerelaxationumbrellas
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Seaview was built in 1948 and was one of the original resorts in Bal Harbour. Stay here:
-If you like a spacious pool deck with an Olympic sized pool.
-If you like to get a beach chair and umbrella without sitting in the 3rd row of an overcrowded beach.
-If you like vintage décor
Yes the staff is ambivalent for sure. But that was easily cured with a few tips. The Room Service was exceptional however and the food very good..Yes the internet was not 5G
But you can't review this place like its the Ritz Carlton. You are not paying 5 star hotel prices you are paying 4 star...and the pro's outweighed the cons

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMontani, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Terence B. We highly appreciate your kind and valuable comments. It is very important to realize that you have enjoyed your stay, service and facilities.
Will continue working hard, day by day to continue improving our services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family stayed there a week ago for 3 nights. I have never experienced such snobby attitudes from staff in a hotel. They will nickel and dime you for absolutely everything. The upholstered furniture in the room was stained and at least 20 years old. Our view was a huge pile of construction trash right outside our window. Another terrible thing is that smokers are allowed to smoke everywhere. You can't eat a meal without someone lighting up a cigarette right next to you. Terribly disgusting. The beach area was littered with cigarette butts, plastic bottles, etc. The seaweed was never raked away. With so much competition around, youd think they would try to better themselves. Not so much.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank laprimus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMontani, Public Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear laprimus77. Your comment has been reported by us to Trip Advisor. We would like to know when you stayed with us, what room was assigned. You can please write to amontani@live.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The Sea View is well-located, the rooms are a decent size and the pool area is spacious.

The people at the desk are average. When asked if we could check in a bit early, they said 'no', though they didn't lift a finger to look. The hotel was not full.

The main reason for the 2-star review is the slow internet in the rooms and pool area. When I mean slow, I mean 3 Mb/second. This is a speed from 2 decades ago. Most cities and countries have speeds of at least 80 Mb/second. At my house I have 250.

I had to work online, so this was very disappointing and inconvenient. I had to sit in the noisy lobby for hours everyday, just to get my work done. If you want to buy tickets, check out restaurants, or use your laptop for anything in your room, forget it.

With all the choices in the area, why suffer? This is not a cheap hotel and there is not excuse for antiquated internet speeds. They should not advertise 'internet' if the speeds will not allow a page to load before timing out.
Deborah

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMontani, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Deborah C. Unfortunatelly, in the area of the property you were staying, we had some electrical and mechanical damages that occurred due to conditions beyond our control. We have a very strong and robust Wi-Fi network throughout the property.
We apologize for the inconveniences indeed we did not received no complaints regarding this issue at the front desk from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Stayed 3 nights, dated room with old appliances, rust on fridge, old electric stove with old foil covering coil plates, carpet was old and stained as was chair, air conditioning could not be adjusted for temperature (ran all three days non stop), took long for hot water, not enough shelving in bathroom for your toiletries, was looking for outlets to plug in phone and noticed there were extension cords coming out of holes in bottom of drywall, (I'm sure that's not up to code), hotel restaurant is pricey, 3 appetizers and one drink cost $68.00, we were bothered by guests smoking in restaurant, Beach was full of seaweed, had to walk over it to go in ocean, was mixed in with sand after second day, lots of litter on beach, there were three of us so we had to pay for an extra chair each day even though hotel was empty, my son came down from Orlando to visit and I was charged an extra $20.00 per day for him to park in an empty parking lot, cell service and Wi-Fi are terrible, had to make a call to downstairs restaurant and was charged for call, room was $151.00 per night, when you add up all the fees it came out to $217.00 per night, imagine staying there a week what the charge would be, there are plenty of Oceanside chain hotels that are cheaper and don't charge extra for normal amenities that should not be charged, also there is construction going on so its very noisy with chisels breaking concrete off exterior walls, the staffs favorite answer for anything you need is (That will be $20.00).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMontani, Public Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gabriel. We are sorry we disappointed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We booked a room for 3 persons (2 adults & teenager of 17) ONLY at check out, we were notified that we had to pay extra (111 $ without tax) for the teenager. He was being charged as an adult: if this is the case, there were many opportunities to inform us upfront!! 1) at the time of the booking 2) after the booking and before arrival - hotel has all our details 3) upon arrival. The bill is not clear neither. We really felt deceived! If we knew the total cost, we would have booked somewhere else. Plenty of other choices - when reading the reviews, this is clearly not the first time the hotel is doing this.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen2018_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMontani, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Karen2018_Belgium. We acknowledge receipt of your comments. Please be so kind and forward us your bill to amontani@live.com
A 17 year old guest is not considered a child, is an adult. Please provide in the email your room number and days you stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews