We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mancheste...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Lovely house. Warm, cosy and homely. Excellent amenities. Clean throughout. Excellent location and wonderful views of the bay. We are a large group of friends aged late 20s to early 30s with 2 dogs. All enjoyed the house immensely.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Sorry for not getting back to you sooner,it was very kind of you to take the time to say such lovely things about the house... we loved having you and hope you can visit us again some time,

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURA B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Cracking!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A group of ten of us have just returned from an amazing stay at Bankfield House. We are all experiencing fairly severe cases of post-holiday blues after coming home from such a lovely place to stay. Well-equipped and beautiful I would recommend a stay at this enormous property to anyone! Within walking distance to the sea and surrounded by rolling hills Bankfield House is a real gem in a wonderful area of the country. Thanks so much to Eric and Helen for providing us with such a lovely backdrop to our perfect weekend!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2013
Hi Laura,

Thank you for your kind words and such a glowing review.
Helen and I are so happy you had a great time and please come back again !!!!

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieRidd...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable Weekend!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Another incredible stay in Bankfield House.
We were particularly impressed with the warmth of the house on what was otherwise a chilly November weekend, and the increased fridge-space to keep the drinks cool!
We had a great time preparing our meal for Saturday night, making good use of the eclectic crockery and of course the Aga.
And of course, we all fell in love with the stunning bedrooms and beautiful views.
Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Master Bedroom
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2013
Hi Jodie,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review and you know you are always welcome to return anytime.
Take care,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family get-away...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here with a large group for dad's 60th; Eric and Helen were both excellent hosts and ensured that the house was suitably set up to cater for large family and a cot bed for the baby...
The house was great; there were more than enough family rooms for relaxation and fantastic bedrooms with beautiful views over the bay.
Only a few minutes drive from Grange centre and lovely walks along the promenade... We also did a brilliant walk up Hampsfell, setting off from Grange centre and 360 degree views of the surrounding bay and Lake District... Highly recommended walk.
We would certainly recommend a stay at Banksfield house, everyone had a great time and we hope to all go back there again one day.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2013
very kind of you to post a review and hopefully we can hit five stars the next time you come back.
take care,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnabyan...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were warmly greeted by Eric & Helen on arrival and were thoroughly looked after - we had a grand tour and were left with a welcome basket of goodies - very kind and much appreciated. The house still has some of the original features and is really beautiful and the views are amazing - we could see the sea from the sitting room! The entire setting is so relaxing, warm and welcoming that we really didn't want to come back to reality. Thank you so much for providing a wonderful holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Hi Barnaby and Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It is always very heart warming for Helen and I to read such kind words.Glad your stay was so enjoyable and haste ye back !!
Best regards,

Eric and helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$330
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing