We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hobbiton Movie Set
from US$58.54
More Info
from US$82.93
More Info
from US$124.75
More Info
from US$261.34
More Info
Reviews (7,483)
Filter reviews
7,483 results
Traveller rating
5,244
1,558
439
156
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,244
1,558
439
156
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the green dragon inn ginger beer our tour guide wings attention to detail new zealand the pub take photos gift shop shire's rest hobbiton movie set middle earth hour tour bus driver lotr fans peter jackson dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 7,483 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Maybe everyone says this, but I would have happily lived in Hobbiton.
The tour was great.... short videos on the bus from Matamata (audio quality was terrible due to rubbishy bus audio system) but they were a nice build up to arriving at the set.
It was somewhat wet, but big umbrellas were provided as we started the tour. The sun came out half way around and the running commentary and photo opportunities were plentiful.
The tour finished with a drink at the green dragon and more videos on the bus ride back to town. Awesome fun with the teens.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We booked the Early Access Hobbiton Tour with Bush & Beach. The tour was faultless from beginning to end. Our driver Wayne was hilarious and made the two-hour drive from Auckland to Matamata very entertaining, so that the time passed very quickly. At Hobbiton, our tour guide Christian was helpful, fun and enthusiastic, making the tour even better. The souvenir shop staff were friendly, helpful and polite, as were the bar staff. Our breakfast was delicious. I only wish that we had been able to spend a bit more time in the shop at the end of the tour. But I highly recommend this tour to Tolkien fans, as we were not rushed through the tour (being a small group) and had plenty of time for photographs. I can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Digi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Okay, so we've seen the movies, but we aren't crazy fans by any means. But this place is really worth the visit! We booked it as a day tour out of Auckland and it did not disappoint. Even if you had no knowledge of the story, you would appreciate a beautiful walk through an amazing locale - with the added bonus of it being a real movie set. Yes, there are lots of people there, but we found that things moved along well and we never felt crowded. Our tour ended at the Green Dragon Inn and lunch was included for us. Is it expensive? Yes, but it is really worth it!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 2Much2See41Lifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely time during this tour. Tour group contained approximately 50 other persons. Plenty of time for photos. More then ample food at the banquet for everyone - homestyle food, such as lambshanks and mash, beef stew, roast chicken etc.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank JessD1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The tour was great the only problem is you do not have as much time as we would like. There are so many tours coming and going that you are on a tight schedule. Absolutely bring your camera don't leave home without it. Great place to take photos. The lunch which was included in our tour was very good but once again a bit of a rush. Weather was a bit up and down so rain gear was good to have and we would suggest good walking shoes the trails get a little slick if it is raining. It was one of the highlights of our New Zealand tour. But then we are Hobbit fans.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank rossgeraldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews