We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
from US$57.79
More Info
from US$123.15
More Info
from US$81.87
More Info
from US$257.99
More Info
Reviews (8,238)
Filter reviews
7,395 results
Traveller rating
5,181
1,540
435
154
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,181
1,540
435
154
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the green dragon inn ginger beer our tour guide wings attention to detail new zealand the pub take photos gift shop shire's rest hobbiton movie set lotr fans middle earth hour tour bus driver behind the scenes rolling hills
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 7,395 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Hobbiton Team
An amazing time actually 3 visits Dec 2016 walking tour April 2017 Banquet & Nov 2017 banquet (partners work do). Never been to the same place 3 times but was very impressed with the fun your guides showed .Excellent customer service. A sing along wouldn't go astray at banquets however overall recommended. Hats off to you all. Well done
Best
Ollie
(S Oliver)
NZ

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank OllieSO28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

This is a fascinating tour of a movie set. It is well set up and the waiting area has a cafe and shop and toilets. You must make sure you are at the bus queue in time for the tour start. The guides are friendly. It was raining profusely but they do offer use of large umbrellas. There is something in this tour for fan and those who know nothing about the films. The groups are quite large and because of the rain and others talking it was sometimes difficult to hear the guide. It is run with military precision around the set and ending at the Green Dragon for a drink. However it never feels rushed and I enjoyed it. Allow a good couple of hours for the whole thing.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank michellel970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

I am a fan of the books and the films so am a little biased, however I can see the attraction of this tour to non fans too. The site is beautifully landscaped in an area of natural beauty in the centre of a working farm. You must take the guided tour in a coach from a choice of locations, my guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very friendly. I enjoyed every aspect of this trip which culminated in a 'free' beer which is brewed exclusively for The Green Dragon Inn.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank bdon257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

...very good for everybody else. It is very busy and you have to be patient to get photos. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable, she gave lots of interesting insight into the making of the movies as well as the construction of the site. It didn't feel rushed and although there were stragglers trying to take photos she managed to keep tabs on us and didn't lose anybody. The weather was good on the day that I visited but I suspect that it would not have been such a good experience if it was wet as there is a bit of walking. I got a tour bus in from Matamata very friendly chatty drivers and the videos shown on the way to and from the site added to the experience. The free drink at the pub was good but another non alcoholic choice would be good as not everybody likes (or can drink) ginger beer. Quite a lot of time allowed in the gift shop at the site, although most of the goods are available st the information centre at Matamata.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank VeggieLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Completed this as "when in Rome" activity and it really was worth it! Enjoyed learning about the sets from our guide -who's name escapes me but she was brilliant - a student in psychology if i recall correctly. we were lucky to be in a small group but they do have a lot of tours per day so it can get pretty crowded. very little shade so do take water with you. Although a good half day out, it needn't be so expensive. Drove down from Hamilton - about 45mins away. Then carried on to the Waikato falls - also a very good trip if you're ok with a 45mins walk through a nature path.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Adelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews