We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Bushmans Grill

Bushmans Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $95
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bushman's Grill is a Steakhouse with an effervescent African atmosphere. We pride ourselves in serving consistently excellent Steaks, a wild Peri Peri Chicken and the best Spare Ribs in Auckland. We are also Children friendly.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Service was slow, there seemed to lack of staff, meat quality dropped (cheap grade), we had the T-Bone (tough) more on the medium, 600grm Rump overcooked meant to be medium rare, this was medium well when notifying the owner, got a disgusting response that “oh it’s the edges you can not get that right, and she said we not going to just do another I mean it is 609grm” then after addressing the waitress the owner offers to redo it, rubbish it was not the edges but the middle, sirloin came out medium well meant to be medium rare, they did refire this, and the Scotch Fillet, shockingly this was cooked well. All steaks were ordered medium rare.
AND NO MONEY is not an issue, #JustSaying!
Our daughter threw up after and said it was the steak. This is a restaurant I used to enjoy going to, but the quality and service have dropped big time, and this was a place I would take clients and family to, not again after this experience, really and I mean really disappointing.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Hi Wesley
It seems you have an issue with our restaurant, evident from your repeated negative reviews across multiple platforms. Despite our efforts to ensure your satisfaction during your visit, you voiced numerous complaints. Additionally, it may not have been suitable for your daughter to have a rich chocolate brownie after her steak. Given the circumstances, it may be best if you refrain from returning, as it appears one bad experience has prompted you to become a keyboard warrior, despite your previous patronage of our establishment." #JustSaying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2024

Have been visiting this restaurant for many years now and it never fails to deliver. The food is always on point, the service is always fantastic. A must do when on the shore.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Danzak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Hi Danzak
Thank you for your lovely feedback we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your evening with us, and I am very happy that we are the same every time you have your meal with us :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

We has a wonderful dinner celebration for my son. The service was excellent and the food amazing. They even got the whole restaurant to sing happy birthday!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank bwanderson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi
We are extremely happy you enjoyed your birthday with us and your meal was amazing we really appreciate your feedback :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

I was happy coming back to this place for a second time it’s always satisfying feeling, the price of the food is not so bad you’ll get a meal more than you expected.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Villanuevaanalyn198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your evening with us :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

It as very busy but we were seen to quickly. We all had mains only one was a disappointment the calamari was chewy & wet. The service was almost non existent by the time we finished our mains had to catch someone’ eye to get more service. Overall a good night

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank lillianc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi
Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear the calamari was not good please next time let the manager on duty know so they can fix it for you right away :-)
Kindest Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bushmans Grill also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland, North Island
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Bushmans Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.