We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night out”
Review of Bushmans Grill

Bushmans Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $95
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bushman's Grill is a Steakhouse with an effervescent African atmosphere. We pride ourselves in serving consistently excellent Steaks, a wild Peri Peri Chicken and the best Spare Ribs in Auckland. We are also Children friendly.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

It as very busy but we were seen to quickly. We all had mains only one was a disappointment the calamari was chewy & wet. The service was almost non existent by the time we finished our mains had to catch someone’ eye to get more service. Overall a good night

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank lillianc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi
Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear the calamari was not good please next time let the manager on duty know so they can fix it for you right away :-)
Kindest Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2024

By far… the best streaks in Auckland! Always perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious….. finishing off your meal with a kahlua don pedro - it’s the perfect combo!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank mlfabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you so much for your feed back we really appreciate it and so glad you enjoyed your meal and evening :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

Always a pleasant atmosphere and a lovely meal. Steak is always good and nice to hear accents from home

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Lspero2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi
Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it and we are extremely happy that you are a Happy Customer too :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

The steak was absolutely superb. This is why we visit this restaurant and drive almost two hours to get there. The food is honestly superb. Unfortunately the famous Dom Pedro’s was a raving failure. Really? Please check on how a real traditional SA Dom Pedro is supposed to be made. Our waiter was also mostly nowhere to be seen

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank RianaTwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Hi Riana
Thanks for your feedback :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The food is always top quality at this restaurant and the service faultless! This is why my family at staple regulars!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Mamighty210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Hi Thank you for your feed back we are very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bushmans Grill also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland, North Island
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Bushmans Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.