We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushmans Grill - Not all good - But steak meat perfection🌟makes BG popular”
Review of Bushmans Grill

Bushmans Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $95
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bushman's Grill is a Steakhouse with an effervescent African atmosphere. We pride ourselves in serving consistently excellent Steaks, a wild Peri Peri Chicken and the best Spare Ribs in Auckland. We are also Children friendly.
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Table Service is suffering - would have been So much easier with a digital table ordering system! Additional enclosed, casual covered tables area where we were seated is rough. Restaurant is obviously popular because of 🌟steaks, but ambience is missing for a date-night - (another SteakHouse Grill better?).
Kitchen/cooks: Pricey Steak Meat was fabulous, EyeFillets were cooked perfectly as ordered. Ribs needed far more of them - was more a starter-size for a hungry-Lad! Would only order the steak again, but as Takeaway-out.
Baked potatoes good size (needed Butter); Risotto was small (Not good value for hungry Lad - should’ve ordered chips from looking at food on other tables). Busy menu!
Candlesticks left on table would’ve been a Safety hazard🔥if lit + took up too much room on table. Seating timing sign on table was tacky - We removed all of it.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hamjacFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2023
Google Translation

!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2023

Deidre and her team were amazing! Everything ran smoothly; everything we ordered was there and on time. The atmosphere and food was amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank AngelaVonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2023

Hi Angela
Thank you so much for your feedback :-) I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your meal and evening with us :-) We look forward to your next visit :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

The food was above our expectations :), thank you. Fantastic service from all the friendly staff members.
We didn't experience any delays with our orders.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank 730lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2023

Hi Thank you so much for your feedback we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your meal and evening with us :-)
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Always great food - steaks cooked to perfection!
Great portions and delicious sauces to compliment the steaks !

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank zulululu2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Hi :-)
Thank you for the fantastic feedback! I'm delighted to know that you've consistently had great experiences with perfectly cooked steaks, generous portions, and delicious sauces to accompany them. Your kind words are appreciated, and enjoy your future visits for some more delicious meals :-)
Kind regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023

20 of us celebrated my husbands 50th. The staff were really accommodating and the food was great! We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Paradise10848471407
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deidre Bezuidenhout, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Hi :-)
We are thrilled to hear that your husband's 50th birthday celebration was a success! It's great that the staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed the food. Your positive feedback and the intention to return are wonderful to hear. If you ever plan another visit or have any special occasions in the future, we'll be here to welcome you back. Thank you for sharing your experience, and happy 50th birthday to your husband.
Kind Regards
Deidre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bushmans Grill also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland, North Island
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Bushmans Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.