We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to hit the spot”
Review of Bushmans Grill

Bushmans Grill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$64
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bushman's Grill is a Steakhouse with an effervescent African atmosphere. We pride ourselves in serving consistently excellent Steaks, a wild Peri Peri Chicken and the best Spare Ribs in Auckland. We are also Children friendly.
Reviewed 18 December 2018

The best restaurant in Auckland, and probably NZ. I’ve seen some reviews on here complaining about the price, but guess what, you pay for what you get. You want cheap then go to McDonalds. If you appreciate a fantastic meal with equally fantastic service then you won’t be let down. This is the most consistently excellent restaurant I have encountered. I will be back!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danzak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ockersegdb57, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments they are much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2018

Came here for my husbands birthday and the food is absolutely amazing, the steak is to die for and the garlic lovers sauce is absolutely wow.
Is expensive so you wouldnt come here all the time but nice for a treat now and again.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emmasweetman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ockersegdb57, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

So glad you enjoyed your Husband’s Birthday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

Food was very nice and hot. However the steaks were expensive considering if you wanted a sauce on it you had to pay extra. And you only got one side, chips, salad, rice, or creamed spinach.
The waitress was extremely hard to understand and had to be asked to repeat herself several times. And she was having difficulty understanding us when we asked questions.
Service was quick and it was great they got the children's meals out quickly

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Aprilholiday_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Made a last minute decision to grab something to eat. Decided to go for the quarter/half chicken special and is not something to be missed. Opted to pair it with a baked potato and hubby had the creamy spinach. More than enough sauce on both chicken portions. We enjoyed our meal so much we had to ask for wetwipes to wipe our faces afterwards. Great service as well. Would definitely recommend.
Ps they have creme soda available! Bonus points!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

We are so glad you decided to visit our restaurant and hope you manage to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We have longed for some of those South African delicacy’s since we left and the Bushmans Grill transports you right back there with a menu that will be sure to make the boere smile.

From the crumbled mushrooms to the creamed spinach, they haven’t just brought the flavours of SA to NZ they have done so with an authenticity that is truly outstanding.

The restaurant itself is a warm and peaceful place, this is in part to there being a kids play area out the back. The front is moody and more romantic and then the back area is a covered beer garden with room for big groups.

The decor is fairly African with some nice kiwiana thrown in the honour the mash of cultures.

The starters are your staples, buffalo wings, mushrooms, cheesy prawns, etc. But they also include snails and an onion blossom which we haven’t seen in so long. Our group was large and we were able to try most of them and I can honestly say that there wasn’t a bad one there. Prices range from $10 to $20 per starter and they are a great introduction to the meal.

Mains are for meat lovers, and trust me, they do not hold back on the servings. My wife and I shared the 600g T-bone Steak with creamed spinach, Mozambique pepper sauce and Monkeygland sauce (for all non South Africans this is a BBQ sauce, not from real monkeys). Super good! I mean cooked to perfection, condiments were excellent and at $42 for the dish, it was a bargain for the two of us. Other standout dishes from our table were the pork spare ribs and the chicken schnitzel with mushroom sauce. Again, it was very hard to fault the meal.

The experience as a whole was enjoyable for everyone, the kids had a great time in their area and this allowed the adults to relax and enjoy a drink and proper conversation.

For a family of four, with drinks you are looking at between $150 - $200 and you will be taking home some leftovers.

So for those who are from SA and looking for a taste of home or those who are looking for a different spin on those grill classics, the Bushmans Grill will satisfy all your senses and leave you wanting more. You will definitely go more than once as will we.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank markmiloburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you for your candid and indepth review. We look forward to your nextvisit and hope you inspire others to visit our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bushmans Grill also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Takapuna, North Shore
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Bushmans Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing