We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of Bushmans Grill

Bushmans Grill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$64
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bushman's Grill is a Steakhouse with an effervescent African atmosphere. We pride ourselves in serving consistently excellent Steaks, a wild Peri Peri Chicken and the best Spare Ribs in Auckland. We are also Children friendly.
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Went here for my birthday with a bunch of mates on 22/12.
Service was excellent, staff made sure we were well looked after. I had the T-bone and it was one of the best steaks I've had, perfectly cooked, and the mushroom sauce was equally amazing.

Will definitely be visiting again.
Keep it up guys, doing a fantastic job.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0pi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you so much for your encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Went there for a birthday dinner. Good for the meat eaters. Ribs highly recommended.

Host was very helpful in advising of the soy free options and producing a lovely dinner. Even made garlic butter from scratch when they couldn't be 10p% certain.

Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Thank you for your comments. We do try our best and we are "Wild about food"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

From the minute we walked in, we had a great time. The food was awesome, I never have steak when we go out, but i did and it was perfect. The ambiance was great, the service was excellent and will, definitely go there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happyhols2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you so much for your comments. Do return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We went here for dinner 2 nights in a row the food was that good, i would recommend the periperi chicken as it was great! Well prices as well and just a great place to eat.
Staff were all very friendly as well and all very welcoming and accomdating. I left my bag behind (dumb i know) and they kept it aside and not 1 thing was touche or moved- very honest which is hard to find these days. Great place to eat and would recommend to everyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your kind words. Hope you come back to Auckland soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Went there for a birthday dinner with friends and the menu, aside from the tacky laminating and clip art style, was extremely high priced. From outside and even the first look at the menu, you would think that it wasn't going to cost so much.

Luckily there are a few reasonably priced options so while my friends may have been happy to pay $50 for a steak, I had a peri peri chicken burger for $20. Unfortunately though, Bushmans idea of peri peri is mouth searingly hot to the point where I couldn't even taste the rest of the meal. I also had some calamari rings as a entree which tasted burnt and sickening. Overall a pretty poor experience.

I won't be returning.

Thank timmM8174QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard O, Owner at Bushmans Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

All our dishes including our calamari and peri peri are very popular. None of our steaks cost $50- and all our prices are comparable to other steak houses. Sorry you did not enjoy your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bushmans Grill also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Bushmans Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing