We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Trip! Attention to a few details could...”
other travellers have booked this property
Island Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island Retreat
Private dock on Mystic River heated pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Island Retreat
Private dock on Mystic River
heated pool
hot tub
patio around pool
porch overlooking pool and hot tub
gameroom
gameroom
beautiful views
master bedroom
ensuite bathroom
bedroom
den
kitchen
upstairs livingroom
den
gardens
Mystic River view
gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Mystic, Connecticut

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Connector...
1 review
“Wonderful Trip! Attention to a few details could easily make this home a 5!”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We loved the location - very convenient to fishing, town, a variety of restaurants, and local attractions. We were two couples with two teenage kids, two dogs, and a boat. Everyone loved the view and the layout of the house. There was plenty of space for all of us to spread out and do our own thing. We all had fun in the pool. The teens had fun in the game room. The dining room table has six chairs and comfortably fit a seventh when we ended up with an extra teen for dinner.

We ran into some minor problems in our first few days (pool had too much chlorine, we needed somewhere to launch our boat, and the kitchen didn't have the cookware and dishes we had expected), but John (the property manager) was always very pleasant and helpful. He came right over and adjusted the pool and taught us how to manage it if we had any further issues. He brought us two new frying pans, a large pot, and some new dinner plates. John also shared his knowledge of areas for fishing, dining, and having fun.

The washer and dryer were great to have on hand.

The cleaning crew needs to spend a little more attention to detail. The ice maker needs to either be thoroughly cleaned or be tossed - it was covered with mildew. The bedroom on the main floor needs curtains or shades on the glass doors to offer privacy from within and without the house. If you plan on doing much cooking, you might want to consider bringing some of your favorite tools as what is supplied is limited.

Overall, we had a great time and if we were in the area again we would speak with Chris about renting the property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpersiche...
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GROSS!”
Reviewed 17 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very pretty house in a great location. My family and I were looking forward to what the house had to offer. However when we arrived I started to notice some dirt on the floor that is visible to the naked eye. As we continued the walk through I noticed dirty walls and the odor of dog. Once the property manager left and we started to unpack it truly became a disaster. Broken couch, the arm kept falling off. The bed in the main floor bedroom broke when a family member sat down on corner of bed, he fell to the floor the frame of the bed was cracked completely. The area rugs smelled of dog and felt dirty to the touch. We found stained floors, stained with what we don't know. The kitchen counters were sticky and dirty, the pots were put back in the cabinets with food stuck on them, the refrigerator was dirty, the countertop ice maker had mold on the inside and grease on the outside. The kitchen floor had dirty in the corners. The bathrooms has open and used bars of soaps in the showers as well as shampoo and conditioner. The blankets on the bed were covered in dog hair. Our bedroom had black mold on the blinds, and window sills.
The hot tub was dirty, the filter was clogged with hair. The pool that was dirty and had so much chlorine in it that your skin burned. Avoid renting this house and any other house owned by this man.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2018
Every year I get one group like this. Yes the bed broke but I bought a new one and installed it within two hours. The place was in beautiful shape and these people were just looking to get some free rent. My price I charge is way under the market for the amenities I offer. They had four groups of families staying in a 3 bedroom house. I even bought them a air mattress to accommodate the 4 car loads of people. $475 a night for 4 families a night, are you kidding me? I have learned some people will never be happy. Maybe they should have all tried to squeeze in a hotel room for $325 a night. Thanks, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad7859...
1 review
“Great vacation!”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Had a wonderful stay! House is spacious and has lots of amenities. Is great for entertaining if you do that. For us, too hot to do tourist-y things so the pool and game room were terrific! Really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Coffee on one of the decks every morning with birds singing was heaven!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett J
1 review
“Great house!!! Awesome location”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

After reading the reviews all were very good except one tittled "honest review" dont listen that is not an honest review ex. the hot tub is not in the dining room...it is in a room with many windows, couches over looking the lovely pool.
Great location!!! nice view of the water from the game room and one of the many decks. Beautiful pool area and property. The property manager John really was a great informative guy. really was ready to bend over backwards to make sure we were happy. If we needed anything or had any questions he was just a phone call away...
The one complaint I do have is it would have been nice if they could have made the weather a little nicer....50's and raining on memorial day weekend come on guys work on that...
I highly recommended this place it exceeded our expectations, we will be going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a Girls' Weekend!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to spend a few days away, and we chose Mystic. Since there were four of us, we decided to rent a house instead of booking a hotel. We had a fabulous time at the Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, and Old Mystic Village. We also spent one day in Newport, Rhode Island.
The house is clean and has several living areas, a full-equipped kitchen, two full bathrooms, a game room, and a hot tub. There is a bedroom and workout room on the lower level that we did not use. It was late in the season, so we did not go in the outdoor pool -- but it is beautiful.
We had breakfast at Kitchen Little every morning. Definitely a high point of our trip. We had the best breakfasts ever!!! (Take a left from the house, another left and then a right turn to get there.) If we go back to Mystic, we will definitely book this house again. Thank you to the property owner and the property manager for making this "mini-vacation" memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing