We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of The Watermill

The Watermill
Price range: US$8 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our focus is on providing a warm welcome, friendly attentive service and great food. Our flexible menu allows us to ensure items are fresh and seasonable. Real log fires for the cold winter months and a large beer garden for warmer weather provide plenty of reasons to visit all year round.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in on a Tuesday morning hoping to get a coffee & something to eat. We were told at first food wasn't available until noon onwards but then when they saw our disappointed expressions they said they could rustle up egg & bacon sandwiches for us, if that would be ok. Absolutely - good quality ingredients and a welcome which was only matched by the warmth from the fire we sat by. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend a trip to this pub - would love to visit again and try something from their main menu board as it had on it some very tempting combinations.

2  Thank AndrewPBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyP3727, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Andrew, glad we could keep you going with some bacon and egg sandwiches! We hope to welcome you back to The Watermill soon

Kind Regards
Tony Pay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just visited for the first time, one child, 4 fussy adults and a fussier dog! I haven’t experienced service like it for a long time - fantastic!! The dog though got spoilt more than us

Food was classic pub food, great quality, tasty and able to accommodate all allergies & fussiness! Brilliant value for money & lovely atmosphere. Even provided treats for the dog and water bowls everywhere - dogs in lounge only so none dog lovers could go in another side.

Service of food well timed - not too long but not rushed either, so freshly cooked but not left standing.

So unusual now to find good food & even better service at a good affordable price. Thanks for making it a great lunch.

1  Thank Popsicle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyP3727, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to host your family (and doggy!) for lunch, and thank you for your personal feedback you gave to me when you were with us, much appreciated. I look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards
Tony Pay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

I live locally and visit the Watermill regularly. It is a very popular destination for people visiting the coast and does understandably get very busy at times especially in the summer months. I have always found the staff to be wonderfully friendly and helpful. During the winter there is always a warm welcome and a great log fire. My husband and I recently attended a Macmillan event that they sponsored and stayed to have fish and chips. The fish was huge, very fresh and served with excellent chips. Highly recommend.

1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyP3727, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your review Sue, and thank you for joining us for the Macmillan coffee morning, almost £700 was raised! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your food after, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Watermill soon

Regards
Tony Pay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

A nice looking pub with pleasant restaurant, sadly that's about it. I ordered a steak but they had only the fillet left. Changed the order to the buttermilk chicken which when it arrived was completely dried out and inedible. My husband had the burger which was also pretty dried out and tasteless, but was at least edible. I asked the waitress who was totally indifferent and overall just downright rude to change my meal. She called the manager who was in fairness more pleasant and offered for me to order something else, but as there was no steaks and little else I wanted I declined. Plus they were unwilling to take my husband's meal and serve it again fresh when my replacement arrived so we would have been sitting together and eating alone! The manager suggested I ate the chips and minuscule amount of coleslaw that was on my plate instead and not to worry they wouldn't charge me for it! Wow thanks! Overall a disastrous meal, which was really a shame after a great day walking in this beautiful area. Warning also about the drinks - £12.25 for one glass of wine and a coke! The waitress did smile at us when she asked if we wanted to add a tip to the bill, surprisingly we declined at which point she returned to her miserable and actually slightly aggressive self. We live within an hour or so of this area and visit regularly but not to this pub again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyP3727, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hi Charles, thank you for your review. My apologies at the level of service you received when you visited us, I will try to identify who the member of our team was who served you and address your comments with them. I have shared your feedback regarding your food with our head chef, and apologies once again that you were disappointed with your meals

Regards
Tony Pay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

States vegan option but very poor choice . Staff not very friendly at all . Garlic mushrooms stater £5.95 I think - not many mushrooms at all . Fish and chips so so . Chicken Salad not that big for the price . Disappointing

Thank Diane889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyP3727, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thanks you for your review, although our vegan options are currently limited we endeavour to improve this as we develop our menu. I have noted your feedback regarding your meals

Regards
Tony Pay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermill also viewed

Ogmore, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Bridgend County
 
Ogmore-by-Sea, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
St Brides Major, Bridgend County
 

Been to The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing